Skip to main content

Hawaii: 150 Years of Japanese Migration and Histories of Dream Islands: PhotoGallery

Photo footage: the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library's participation of the National Museum of Japanese History's Hawaii Japanese immigrant exhibit from October 29-December 26, 2019 at Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan.
Rekihaku exhibit flyer

“…This Exhibition traces histories of Hawaii from the pre-modern to the modern period from various historical perspectives: from the experiences of migration and war to images of paradise dream islands as well as the perspective of the Kingdom itself and that of native Hawaiians.” https://www.rekihaku.ac.jp/exhibitions/project/old/191029/index.html (Japanese)
https://www.rekihaku.ac.jp/english/exhibitions/project/old/191029/index.html (English)

This is from the team of curators on the National Museum of Japanese History website describing their latest exhibit, Hawaii: 150 Year of Japanese Migration and Histories of Dream Islands.

Beginning on October 29 and running through December 26, 2019, the largest exhibit to focus on Hawaii’s Japanese immigrants will introduce their rich history and multi-faceted lives to museum visitors. It was over a year and a half ago that Dr. Kosuke Harayama, Chief Curator, requested the UHM Library’s participation to showcase historical documents and photos about Japanese immigrants in Hawaii. He enthusiastically discussed the Museum's hope to educate people about Hawaii’s rich connection and history with Japan, which is in contrast with the Japanese image of Hawaii as a tourist playground. Monica Ghosh, Interim University Librarian, recognized the tremendous value, locally and internationally, of the National Museum’s request and 50 rare items from the UHM Library’s Hawaiian, Archives, and Asia collections will be exhibited in Japan for the first time. Other major participants include the Hoover Institute of Stanford University, the Japanese International Cooperation Agency (JICA) Museum, Hawaii Times Photo Archives Foundation, Hawaii Plantation Village, and the Bishop Museum.

The National Museum of Japanese History is the largest history museum in Japan and its exhibits attract people from all over the world. See https://www.rekihaku.ac.jp/english/

Related site by the National Institute of Japanese Language and Linguistics https://kotobaken.jp/events/news-191211-01/

Exhibit Preparations

Rekihaku's visit to the UHM Library Administration 2018

Exhibit team visiting the UHM Library Administration 2018

Monica Ghosh, University Librarian, met the Exhibit team from Japan in 2018.
Front left: Dr. Yoshiyuki Asahi (National Institute of Japanese Language and Linguistics), Monica Ghosh (University Librarian), Dr. Kosuke Harayama (National Museum of Japanese History)

Back left: Kazuko Hioki (UHM Preservation), Tokiko Bazzell (Asia Collection), Fumi Yoshii (National Museum of Japanese History)

Kosuke Harayama @ Hawaiian Collection 2018

Dr. Harayama @ the UHM Library Hawaiian Collection 2018

Dr. Kosuke Harayama (National Museum of Japanese History) inspecting the exhibit items at the Hawaiian Collection Reading Room in 2018.

Drs. Harayama & Shimizu @ Hawaiian Collection 2018

Photographing the exhibit items

Dr. Kosuke Harayama and Dr. Kiyoshi Kawamura (National Museum of Japanese History) cataloging the exhibit items at the UHM Library Hawaiian Collection Reading Room 2018.

Harayama & Kawamura with Dawson & Naauao @ UHM Preservation 2019

Dr. Kosuke Harayama and Dr. Kiyoshi Kawamura of the National Museum of Japanese History reviewing Honolulu Maps in the UHM Archives with Ms. Leilani Dawson, Archivist and Ms. Liane Naauao, Paper Conservator at the UHM Preservation Department in May 2019.

Rekihaku @ UHM Preservation 2019

Harayama & Kawamura @ UHM Preservation

Dr. Kosuke Harayama and Dr. Kiyoshi Kawamura of the National Museum of Japanese History reviewing Honolulu Maps in the UHM Archives with Ms. Leilani Dawson, Archivist and Ms. Liane Naauao, Paper Conservator at the UHM Preservation Department in May 2019.

Rekihaku @ UHM Preservation 2019

Reviewing digital photos taken by Christine Takata @ UHM Preservation 2019

Dr. Kosuke Harayama & Dr. Kiyoshi Kawamura of the National Museum of Japanese History talking with Chrisine Takata, Preservation Photographer @ the UHM Preservation Department 2019.

Rekihaku @ UHM Preservation 2019

Rekihaku @ the UHM Preservation 2019

Dr. Kosuke Harayama & Dr. Kiyoshi Kawamura of the National Museum of Japanese History talking with Christine Takata of the UHM Preservation 2019.

inspecting the items before packing 2019

Last inspection 2019

Dr. Kosuke Harayama and Mr. Hasegawa conducting the last inspection of the exhibit items before packing 2019.

last inspection of the exhibit items before shipping 2019

Last inspection before packing 2019

Dr. Kosuke Harayama and Mr. Hasegawa conducting the last inspection of the exhibit items before packing 2019.

Last inspection of the exhibit items 2019

Last inspection before packing 2019

From left: Dr. Kokuke Harayama (National Museum of Japanese History) inspecting the packages with Mr. Hasegawa, Art Transporting Company, & Mr. Marc Thomas, Art Hander at the Preservation Department, October 2019.

Packing container

Custom made packing container

Mr. Marc Thompson, Art Handler, created a custom made packing container for the exhibit items 2019.

Marc Thompson placing the items 2019

Packing the exhibit items 2019

Mr. Marc Thomas, Art Handler, placing the exhibit items in a container that he made at the UHM Preservation 2019.

a map in a container

Transportation safety for a map

A map has been securely placed in a container at the UHM Preservation in 2019.

exhibit items in a container 2019

Getting ready for shipping 2019

The exhibit items are ready for shipping 2019.

exhibit items in a container 2019

Getting ready for shipping

Mr. Hasegawa and Mr. Marc Thomas, Art Handler, are sealing up tightly the container at the UHM Preservation in 2019.

crating the exhibit items 2019

Crating all

The container has been securely crated at the UHM Preservation in 2019.

a crate 2019

Ready to go

A crate is ready to go to the Honolulu Airport in October 2019.

@National Museum of Japanese History (Rekihaku) in Japan

Rekihaku on October 28, 2019

Remarks @ Rekihaku

Monica Ghosh, UHM University Librarian, is addressing her remarks at the Rekihaku on October 28, 2019. Chiba Japan.

Rekihaku on October 28, 2019

Exhibit Entrance

Monica Ghosh, UHM University Librarian, is in front of the central entrance of the Rekihaku exhibit on October 28, 2019. Chiba Japan. The sign reads, "ハワイ Hawaii"

Rekihaku on October 28, 2019

Rekihaku Exhibit Entrance

Tokiko Bazzell, Japan Studies Librarian, with Kay Ueda, Archivist of the Hoover Institute posing at the exhibit entrance on October 28, 2019. Chiba Japan.

Rekihaku on October 28, 2019

Dr. Harayama's private tour of the exhibit

Dr. Kosuke Harayama, Chief Curator of the National Museum of Japanese History, is leading a private tour of the Rekihaku Exhibit on October 28, 2019. Chiba Japan

former ambassador of japan at rekihaku tour october 28 2019

@ Rekihaku private exhibit tour

Tokiko Bazzell, Japan Studies Librarian, with Former Ambassador of Japan Mr. & Mrs. Kishichiro Amae at the National Museum of Japanese History, Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku on October 28, 2019

UHM Archives' maps on display

Loaned maps from the UHM Archives are beautifully displayed at the National Museum of Japanese History, Sakura-city Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku on October 28, 2019

Rekihaku Exhibit 2019

Monica Ghosh, UHM University Librarian, and Tokiko Bazzell, Japan Studies Librarian, posing with replica drawings from the UHM Archives at the Rekihaku Exhibit on October 28, 2019, Chiba Japan.

Rekihaku on October 28, 2019

Hawaii Japanese Language School Textbooks on Display

Textbooks from the Hawaii Japanese Language School Textbook Collection of the UHM Asia Collection are on display at the National Museum of Japanese History, Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

Stanley Kaizawa Collection at the Rekihaku on October 28, 2019

Stanley Kaizawa Collection on display

The case displays all the loaned items from the Stanley Kaizawa Collection of the UHM Asia Collection at the National Museum of Japanese History, Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

 

 

 

 

 

 

the Stanley Kaizawa Collection case of the UHM Asia Collection at the National Museum of Japanese History, Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

Stanley Kaizawa Collection Case

The case displays all the loaned items from the Stanley Kaizawa Collection of the UHM Asia Collection at the National Museum of Japanese History, Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku on October 28, 2019

Posing in front of the Japanese Language School textbook display case

Monica Ghosh, UHM University Librarian, and Tokiko Bazzell, Japan Studies Librarian posing with Dr. Yukinori Takubo, Director-General, and Dr. Tomokazu Takada, Professor, of the National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics, in front of the Japanese language school textbooks from the Asia Collection. Dr. Takada curated this display at the National Museum of Japanese History. October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku on October 28, 2019

Makiki Christian Church (replica) in Japan

A replica of the Makiki Christian Church on display. In the background, Dr. Kosuke Harayama, Chief Curator, is guiding invited guests at the National Museum of Japanese History Exhibit, Sakura-city, Chiba-Prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

Monica Ghosh at the National Museum of Japanese History on October 28, 2019

Monica Ghosh discussing with two interpreters

Monica Ghosh, UHM University Librarian, discussing with Mr. Hamya Wayuparb & Ms. Saki Kiki Wailana Miyazaki at the National Museum of Japanese History Exhibit on October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku reception on October 28, 2019

Rekihaku Reception

Dr. Hiroshi Kurushima, Director-General of the National Museum of Japanese History, welcomed the guests to the reception, Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku reception on October 28, 2019

"Hore hore Bushi" (Hole Hole Bushi) song

At the reception, Ms. Momoko Maniscalco of the Hawaii Plantation Village, demonstrating the Japanese immigrants' song, "Hore Hore Bushi ホレホレ節"  (Hole Hole Bushi) @ the National Museum of Japanese History. October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku reception on October 28, 2019

Dr. Dennis Ogawa

UHM American Studies Professor, Dr. Dennis Ogawa, talking to the reception guests at the National Museum of Japanese History, Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku reception on October 28, 2019

@ Rekihaku Reception

Dr. Hiroshi Kurushima, Director-General, with Monica Ghosh, UHM University Librarian, and Tokiko Bazzell, Japan Studies Librarian, at the National Museum of Japanese History, Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku reception on October 28, 2019

Rekihaku Reception on October 28, 2019

Monica Ghosh, UHM University Librarian, with Ms. Junko Tsuda & Ms. Royanne Doi of the US-Japan Council at the National Museum of Japanese History, Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku reception on October 28, 2019

Sharing her experience and collaboration with the Rekihaku

Tokiko Bazzell talking about her wonderful experience with the National Museum of Japanese History at the reception on October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku Reception on October 28, 2019

@ Rekihaku reception

Monica Ghosh, UHM University Librarian, with Dr. Hiroshi Kurushima, Director-General of the National Museum of Japanese History on October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku Reception on October 28, 2019

@ Rekihaku Reception

Tokiko Bazzell, Japan Studies Librarian, with Dr. Tomokazu Takada, National Institute of Japanese Language and Linguistics.  He curated the Hawaii Japanese language school textbook displays at the Exhibit. October 28, 2019.

Rekihaku reception on October 28, 2019

@ Rekihaku Reception

Rekihaku exhibit collaborators getting together at the end of the reception at the National Museum of Japanese History, Sakura-city, Chiba-prefecture, Japan. October 28, 2019.