This list of resources are in alphabetical order by citation and include newspaper articles, articles in peer reviewed journals, book chapters, papers, online open access content from a wide variety of resources, biography, reports/correspondence, and fiction.
The resources in this guide provide a wide range of perspectives on the Marichjhapi Massacre. Links are provided to online resources, search the library’s databases for journal articles, and check call numbers of items that are in the library. For assistance with the topic contact Monica Ghosh, South Asia Studies Librarian, email monicag@hawaii.edu.
Ambedkarite Team. The genocide of Dalits at Marichjhapi in West Bengal. The Ambedkarite Today, January 2020. Online (free full text).
Basu, Jyoti. Speech delivered to State Legislative Assembly on January 9, 1979. Online (free full text).
Bhattacharya, Snigdhendu. "Ghost of Marichjhapi returns to haunt." The Hindustan Times, April 25, 2011. Online (free full text).
Bhattacharyya, Debjani and Megnaa Mehtta. “Is the Managed Retreat Plan for the Sundarbans Misguided?” Diplomat (Rozelle, N.S.W.) (2020): n. pag. Print.
Bhattacharya, Tushar. Aprakashito Marichjhapi. Translated by Aritra Chatterjee and Somnath Bannerjee. Online (free full text).
Byāpārī, Manorañjana, and Sipra Mukherjee. Interrogating My Chandal Life: an Autobiography of a Dalit. New Delhi, India: SAGE Publications India Pvt Ltd, 2018. Print. Asia PK1731.15.Y37 Z46 2018 (E-book).
Chakrabarti, Santanu. “Why and How Bengal Forgot Marichjhapi.” The Indian Express, February 14, 2022. Online – requires subscription.
Chowdhury, Debdatta. “Space, identity, territory: Marichjhapi Massacre, 1979.” The International Journal of Human Rights, 15:5, 664 -682, 2011. DOI: 10.1080/13642987.2011.569333
Chowdhury, Debdatta. “Ethno-Cultural Concerns: Appropriation of Marginal Spaces.” Identity and Experience at the India-Bangladesh Border. 1st ed. Routledge, 2018. 141–176 (E-book).
Cottier Bucher, Annie Madeleine. “Settlers in the Sundarbans. The Poetry and Politics of Humans and Nature in Amitav Ghosh's The Hungry Tide.” In On the Move. The Journey of Refugees in New Literatures in English. (pp. 125-137). Cambridge Scholars Publishing, Cambridge, 2012. Book is not owned by the library, but the chapter can be requested through interlibrary loan.
Dasgupta, Abhijit. “Residues of Partition.” Displacement and Exile: The State-Refugee Relations in India. Delhi: Oxford University Press, 2016. Print: Asia HV640.4.I4 D37 2016.
Ghosh, Amitav. The Hungry Tide. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2005. Print. Asia PR9499.3.G536 H86 2005.
Ghosh, Monica G. Pitting Animal Rights Against Human Rights in Accounts of the Morichjhapi Massacre. Presentation paper at Annual South Asia Spring Symposium, Honolulu, 2014. Online – open access.
Guha, Ayan. “Book Review: Deep Halder, Blood Island: An Oral History of the Marichjhapi Massacre.” South Asia Research 2022: 141–145. Web and in print. Asia (Library Use Only) DS331 .S657.
Halder, Deep. Blood Island: An Oral History of the Marichjhapi Massacre. Harper Perennial, 2019. Library does not own a copy of the book.
Jalais, Annu. “Dwelling on Morichjhanpi: When Tigers Became ‘Citizens’, Refugees 'Tiger-Food'." Economic and Political Weekly 40.17 (2005): 1757-62. Print. Available online via JSTOR.
Mallick, Ross. “Refugee Resettlement in Forest Reserves: West Bengal Policy Reversal and the Marichjhapi Massacre.” Journal of Asian Studies 58.1: 22p. Print. Available online via JSTOR.
Mazumdar, Jaydeep. “The Forgotten Story of the Marichjhapi Massacre by Marxists.” Swarajya, January 29, 2017. Online (free full text).
Mukherjee, Upamanyu Pablo. “Water/Land: Amitav Ghosh.” In Postcolonial Environments Nature, Culture and the Contemporary Indian Novel in English. 1st ed. 2010. London: Palgrave Macmillan UK, 2010 (E-book).
Purakayastha, Paramita. “Space, Place and Identity: An Appraisal of Some Discursive Treatments of the Marichjhapi Massacre.” All About Ambedkar: A Journal on Theory and Praxis, Volume 2, Issue 1, January-April 2021. Online (free full text)
Sen, Jhuma. "The Silence of Marichjhapi.” Banglanama, July 6, 2009.
Sengupta, Debjani. “From Dandakaranya to Marichjhapi: Rehabilitation, Representation and the Partition of Bengal
Sengupta, Debjani. “The Forgotten Massacre Of Dalit Refugees In West Bengal's Marichjhapi.” The Wire, October 2018. Online (free full text).
Vivekanandan, Jayashree. “Scratches on Our Sovereignty?: Analyzing Conservation Politics in the Sundarbans.” Regions & cohesion 11.1 (2021): 1–20. Web: Open access journal.
Zhang, Izabela Radwanska. “The Displaced.” British journal of photography 166.7886 (2019): 82–88. Print: Main (Library Use Only) TR1 .B8.
