Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases relevant to mechanical engineering
Listed here are several databases relevant to mechanical engineering research. Curious about other databases? Browse the SciTech Reference Department's complete list of databases used for the sciences and technology.
ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Collection ASME journals published from 2000 to present and conference proceedings from 2008 to present
IEEE/IET Electronic Library The IEEE/IET Electronic Library provides full-text access to IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings from 1872 to present, plus active IEEE standards.
Web of Science Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1980 to present.
These other databases contain journals and articles related to engineering:
Google Scholar Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences.
GeoBase via Engineering Village 2 GEOBASE is a unique multidisciplinary database supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies. NOTE: To use the GeoBase thesuarus and the Google map feature, make sure that only GeoBase is checked when running your search.
GeoRef via Engineering Village 2 The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
ScholarSpace at University of Hawaii at Manoa Maintained by the University of Hawaii at Manoa Library, ScholarSpace, the UH Manoa digital repository, aims to store the intellectual works and unique collections of this academic community and to provide a permanent web location for those accessing these resources. Some resources may be restricted for use by UHM students, faculty and staff only.
SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering) Digital Library Includes access to SPIE journals and the Proceedings of the SPIE back to volume 1.
Find articles via OneSearch Manoa
OneSearch is a tool that searches almost everything UHM library has access to. OneSearch is able to search through multiple databases and the UH Voyager Catalog at one time. Results include books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.
Request full text through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Submit requests for full text articles from journals UHM does not subscribe to via ILL.