University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Urbanization in the Pacific: Library Information

Library Hours

Hawaiian and Pacific Collections

Reading Room
MON-FRI: 9:00am-5:00pm
SATURDAY: closed
SUNDAY: 1:00pm-5:00pm

Reference Desk
MON-FRI: 10:00am-5:00pm
SATURDAY: n/a
SUNDAY: 1:00pm-5:00pm

All Library Hours

Welcome to the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections

The Hawaiian & Pacific Collections are generally considered to be among the world's most comprehensive collections of their type. In some cases, they also function differently from the rest of Hamilton Library. In particular:

  • The Hawaiian & Pacific Collections are "closed shelf" collections, meaning that you cannot wander through the stacks and pull books off the shelf as you see them. Instead, you need to search for them within the Voyager online catalog and request them using "Get This Item." (For instructions on requesting books, click here). Once items have been requested they will be available for pick-up at our fifth floor circulation counter in roughly 10 minutes.
  • Our hours are different from the rest of the library (9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday-Friday). Some of our materials can only be used in the library. It's therefore important to budget your time wisely when working on projects. Whenever possible, try to do your Voyager searches and requests before you come to the library, so that your materials will be waiting for you when you arrive. Find out which materials can only be used in the library -- you might want to photocopy or scan portions of these texts to take with you. (The Hawaiian & Pacific Collections have two photocopy machines and one scanner; photocopies are 9 cents per page with a copy card or 10 cents per page without one; scanning is free.)
  • Rare materials (those identified in the Voyager holdings record as either Hawaiian Rare or Pacific Rare) are available for use Monday-Friday, from 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. They cannot be used on Sundays without prior permission.

Senior Librarian, Pacific Collection

Stu Dawrs's picture
Stu Dawrs
Contact:
Pacific Collection, Hamilton Library

Fifth Floor, Office 512
Hamilton Library
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu. HI 96822
(808) 956-9779
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Pacific