1. Introductory Sources
· Area Handbook Series. Washington, D.C. : Federal Research Division, Library of Congress. (various call numbers)
Searching tip: search by title on: area handbook series or <name of country> a country study
Example: title search: vietnam a country study.
[see also: Online Resources, next section]
· Far East and Australasia. London : Europa Publications (annual)
· Southeast Asian Affairs. Singapore : Institute of Southeast Asian Studies. (annual)
· The Cultural Traditional Media of ASEAN : Essays, Bibliographies, Glossaries,
Directories. Djakarta, Indonesia : Association of Southeast Asian Nations, 1986. [covers Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand]
· East, Southeast Asia and the Western Pacific. Harpers Ferry, WV : Stryker-Post Publications (annual)
Previous title: East Asia and the Western Pacific (1987-1996)
· Columbia chronologies of Asian history and culture. New York : Columbia University Press, c2000.
Online Resources (Available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· Library of Congress Country Studies (Area handbook series) http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
· World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency) http://www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
- Lexis-Nexis academic universe. Dayton, Ohio : LEXIS-NEXIS, 1997-
Provides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts.
Online user guide at http://www.lexis-nexis.com/academic/1univ/acad/auguide.htm
- Encyclopedia Britannica online. Chicago, IL : Britannica Online, 1994-
· AsiaInt.com : the one-stop political, business and economic intelligence resource for Asia. London : Asia Intelligence Ltd., [199-
Economics and politics from a business perspective. Title also entered asAsian Intelligence Service
2. Bibliographies/Indexes/Guides (general)
· Bibliography of Asian Studies. Ann Arbor, Mich., Association for Asian Studies, 1946- Titled the Far Eastern Bibliography, 1946-1955. (annual). Published as part of the Far Eastern Quarterly, 1941-1946 . Cumulations:Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1941-1965 ( 8 v.) ; Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1966-1970 (6 v.) . Also available online (1971- ) through the Cornell University Library Gateway.
· Dalby, A.K. South East Asia : a Guide to Reference Material. London ; New York: H. Zell Publishers, 1993.
· Kemp, Herman C. Bibliographies on Southeast Asia. Leiden, The Netherlands: KITLV Press, 1998.
· Nunn, Godfrey Raymond. Asia Reference Works : a Select Annotated Guide. London : Mansell, 1980.
· World Bibliographical Series. Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, Calif. : Clio Press (various call numbers)
Searching tip: search by command keyword: <name of country> and "world bibliographical"
Example: command keyword: malaysia and "world bibliographical"
Note: A number of the titles from this series are also available online. If a title is available online, the Networked Resource logo will appear in the right column of the title index.
Online Resources (available through the Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· Bibliography of Asian Studies. Ann Arbor, Mich., Association for Asian Studies. 1971- (Note: for years prior to 1971, see the print version)
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian studies (BAS) contains more than 450,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present
· Southeast Asian Serials Index. Canberra, ACT : Library, Asia-Pacific Cluster, Australian National University in cooperation with the Library, Royal Institute of Linguistics and Anthropology, Leiden, the Netherlands, 1995-
Provides access to information on Southeast Asia through the indexing of major academic and current affairs journals published in a range of countries including Indonesia, Malaysia, Japan, Australia, and the Netherlands.
- Periodical Abstracts. Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1986-
Indexes and abstracts an extensive number of periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Also included are citations and abstracts to selected television and radio programs. Full text of many articles is provided.
3. Anthropology
· LeBar, Frank M. Ethnic Groups of Insular Southeast Asia. New Haven : Human Relations Area Files Press, 1972-75. (2 v.)
· _______________. Ethnic groups of mainland Southeast Asia. New Haven : Human Relations Area Files Press, 1964.
· Human relations area files. New Haven, Conn. : Human Relations Area Files
Web version also available, see below
Online guide and further information at http://www.yale.edu/hraf/
Online Resources (Available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· Anthropological index [computer file]. London : RAI, 1971-
Print version, 1963-1976
The Anthropological Index is a regionally arranged subject and author index to periodical articles in all areas of anthropology. It is produced by the Museum of Mankind Library
· eHRAF collection of ethnography : a world of cultures at your fingertips. New Haven, CT : Human Relations Area Files, Inc., 1997- .
The web-based edition of the Human relations area files. It is not as complete as the microfiche edition
Online guide and further information at http://www.yale.edu/hraf/
4. Art/Art History/Architecture
Online Resources (Available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· Art Abstracts [computer file]. Bronx, N.Y. : H.W. Wilson Co., 1984-
Indexes More than 250 key international, English-language arts publications. Includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and more. Covers art, archaeology, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, interior design, landscape architecture, photography, television, textiles and video.
· Avery index to architectural periodicals [computer file]. Mountain View, Calif. : Research Libraries Information Network, 1930-
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and landscape architecture
5. Biography
· ASEAN Who's Who. Kuala Lumpur : Kasuya Pub., 1994. (3 v.)
· Biography Index. New York : H.W. Wilson Co. 1946-
A cumulative index to biographical material in books and magazines.
[see also, Online Resources, next section]
· Biography and Genealogy Master Index. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., 1980-
A consolidated index t biographical sketches in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries. [see also: Online Resources, next section]
· South-East Asian biographical archive [microform] / [editor, Berend Wispelwey]. München : K.G. Saur Verlag, [1999?]
Comprises approximately 85,000 biographical entries on about 55,000 persons, from the following countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Both the colonial era and subsequent independence movements in Southeast Asia are included.
Online Resources (available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· Biography Index. Bronx, N.Y. : H.W. Wilson Co., 1984-
Citations to biographical articles in books and periodicals. Includes autobiographies, bibliographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. For years prior to 1984, see print version.
· Biography and Genealogy Master Index. Detroit : Gale Research, Inc.,
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
· Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe. Dayton, Ohio : LEXIS-NEXIS, 1997-
See "Biographical Information" under "Reference"
6. Current Events/Recent History
Online Resources (available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe. Dayton, Ohio : LEXIS-NEXIS, 1997-
See description under Introductory Sources, above
- Periodical Abstracts. Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1986-
See description under Introductory Sources, above
A listing with links to online newspapers from Southeast Asia.
7. Economics/Business
Online Resources (Available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· ABI/Inform. Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, 1971-
Covers the areas of accounting, banking, computers, economics, engineering management, communications, finance, health care, human resources, insurance, international trends, law, management, marketing, public administration, real estate, taxation, transportation.
· AsiaInt.com : the one-stop political, business and economic intelligence resource for Asia. London : Asia Intelligence Ltd., 199-
· EconLit. Dublin, Ohio : OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc., 1969
Indexes books, journal articles, dissertations, and articles in books publishedsince 1969 on the subjects of economic theory and history, fiscal theory, econometrics, agricultural economics, public finance, demography, monetary theory, international economics and others.
8. History
· Asian Historical Dictionaries and Asian Oceanian Historical Dictionaries.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998. (various call numbers)
Note: All titles in the series have the form Historical dictionary of <name of country>
Searching tips: title search: asian historical dictionaries (for the earlier name of the series)
title search: asian oceanian historical dictionaries (for current title)
title search: historical dictionary of <name of country>
Example: title search: historical dictionary of myanmar
· The Cambridge history of Southeast Asia / edited by Nicholas Tarling. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1992. (Ref DS525 .C17; additional copies in the Asia stacks and in Uris Library)
· Encyclopedia of Asian History. New York, NY : Scribner, 1988. (4 v.)
· Pluvier, Jan M. Historical atlas of South-East Asia. New York : E.J. Brill, 1995.
· Wyatt, David K. “Southeast Asia,” in The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature. 3rd ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 1995. (2 v.), v. 1, p. 476-497.
A bibliographic guide to the most important works on the history of Southeast Asia.
Online Resource (Available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· Historical Abstracts. Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-Clio, Inc., c1998-
Covers monographs and articles published 1954-
9. Language and Literature
· Dictionary of Oriental literatures. New York : Basic Books, 1974. (3 v. : vol 2 on Southeast Asia)
· Herbert, Patricia M. and Anthony Milner. South-East Asia : Languages and Literatures, a Select Guide. Honolulu : University of Hawaii Press, 1989.
· Traveller's Literary Companion to South-east Asia. Brighton, UK : In Print Pub., 1994. )
· Kratz, Ernst Ulrich. Southeast Asian Languages And Literatures : a Bibliographical Guide to Burmese, Cambodian, Indonesian, Javanese, Malay, Minangkabau, Thai and Vietnamese. London ; New York : I.B. Tauris, 1996.
Online Resource (Available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
- MLA bibliography [computer file]. New York] : Modern Language Association of America, 1963-
The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively. Approximately 4,000 journals and series are screened.
10. Politics/Government/Public Policy
· Political Parties of Asia and the Pacific : a Reference Guide. Harlow, Essex, U.K. : Longman ; Detroit, Mich., 1992.
- The Facts on File Asian political almanac. New York : Facts on File, c1994.
· Leifer, Michael. Dictionary of the Modern Politics of South-East Asia. 3rd ed.London ; New York : Routledge, 2001.
· Ziring, Lawrence. The Asian Political Dictionary. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-Clio, 1985.
Online Resources (Available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· AsiaInt.com : the one-stop political, business and economic intelligence resource for Asia. London : Asia Intelligence Ltd., 199-
· Asian governments on the WWW [computer file]. München : G. Anzinger, 1995-
http://www.gksoft.com/govt/en/asia.html
A comprehensive directory offering access to the web sites of Asian governmental institutions: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions and political parties.
· PAIS international [computer file]. New York : Public Affairs Information Service, 1972-
Contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets
11. Religion
Online Resource (Available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· ATLA religion database [S.l.] : American Theological Library, 1949-
A comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faulty research. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews, and Doctor of Ministry projects
12. Rural Development/Sociology/Demography
Online Resources (Available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· POPLINE [computer file] : citations and abstracts of the worldwide literature on population and family planning. Boston : SilverPlatter International
Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles, monographs, technical reports, and unpublished works on population, family planning and related health care, law and policy issues; materials date from 1827, most from 1960s.
· Sociological abstracts. 1963-
Contains records from 3,000 journals covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences published since 1963.
- Tropag & rural. Boston, MA : SilverPlatter International, 1975-
Two combined databases abstracting recent literature on economic and social development in developing countries, tropical agriculture and environmental management in tropical and subtropical regions.
13. Statistics
· The Asia-Pacific profile. London ; New York : Routledge in association with The Open University, 1998.
· Brewster, Jennifer. Bibliography of Statistical Sources on Southeast Asia, c.1750-1990. Canberra : Economic History of Southeast Asia Project, Research School of Pacific Studies, Australian National University, 1990.
Online Resources (available through Library Catalog. Search by title and click on the Electronic Access link in the catalog record.)
· FactSearch. Ann Arbor, Mich. : Pierian Press,
Guide to statistical statements on current social, economic, political, environmental and health issues, derived from some 1,000 newspapers, periodicals, newsletter and documents such as the Christian Science Monitor, the Congressional Record,
Congressional hearings, Daily Press Briefings of the White House, State Department and Department of Defense, and Australian, British and Canadian Parliamentary Debates. Web links to free full text are included frequently.
· Statistical Universe. Bethesda, Md. : Congressional Information Service, c1998-
Provides comprehensive access to U.S. statistical information. Includes an index to over 100,000 U.S. government, state, local, privately-produced and international statistical publications from 1973 to present, abstracts and tables, and background information.
Online user guide:http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/1univ/stat/StatUUserGuide.pdf
