Online Dictionaries of Places
Click on the links below to search place names online.
- Place Names of Hawaii, by Pukui, Elbert and MookiniLinks to dictionaries. Under CUSTOMIZED SEARCH, select PLACE NAMES OF HAWAII and type place name.
Also available in print in the library.
Call Number: Hawn DU622 .P79 1976 (located in Hawn Place Names Ref, Hawn and Hamilton) - Hawaii Place Names: Shores, Beaches, and Surf Sites, by John ClarkOr link to http://wehewehe.org/gsdl2.5/cgi-bin/hdict?l=en, select HAWAII PLACE NAMES under "customized search", and type place name.
Also available in print in the library.
Call Number: Hawn DU622 .C546 2002 (located in Hawn Place Names Ref, Hawn, Hamilton and Hamilton Ref) - Hawaiian Dictionary, by Pukui and ElbertAlso available in print in the library.
Call Number: Hawn PL6446 .P795 1991 - SEARCH ABOVE THREE SOURCES AT ONCE
- Lloyd J. Soehren's Catalogs of Hawaii Place NamesCompiled from many sources. Includes Kauai, Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai and Hawaii, but not Kaula, Leeward Island, Lehua, Nihoa and Niihau. Also available on Ulukau, in browsable and drill-down formats.
- Office of Hawaiian Affairs Papakilo DatabaseIncludes historic sites database, mahele aina index, maps.
Requires registration and login.
Importance of Place Names in Hawaiian Culture
- "Connotative Values of Hawaiian Place Names," by ElbertOnline not available.
Paper edition call number GR99.6 .D57. Pages 117-133. - "Creative Processes in Hawaiian Use of Place Names in Chants," by LuomalaOnline not available.
Paper edition call number GR885 .L83 1965a
Papakilo Database
SEARCH BY SOURCE
Genealogy Indexes
Historic Sites Databases
Māhele ʻĀina Index
Maps
Multimedia
Newspapers
Periodicals / Reports
Place Names
Uncategorized
Traditional Sources
- Native Planters in Old Hawaii: Their Life, Lore, and Environment, by E.S. (Edward Smith) Craighill HandyOnline not available.
Call number: Hawn AM101 .B442 no.233 1991 (located in Hawn Ref, Hawn, Hamilton and Hamilton Ref)
See index to subjects and chants. - Use and Control of Hawaiian Inter-Island Channels, Polynesian Hawaii, A.D. 1400-1794, by Robert J. HommonOnline not available.
Call number: Hawn DU626 .H66 1975a (located in Hawn and Hamilton)
Includes section on
"InterIsland Canoe Voyages,"
"Naval Battles and Similar Incidents,"
"Legal Control of Channel Use,"
"List of Geographical Names Found in Accounts of Ancient Inter-island Canoe Voyages." - Ruling Chiefs of Hawaii, by Samuel Manaiakalani Kamakaua (1815-1876)Paper copy http://uhmanoa.lib.hawaii.edu:7008/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=1914301
Call number: Hawn DU624.65 .K3413 1992 (located in Hawn Ref, Hawn, Hamilton and Hamilton Ref)
Check place names in index.
See also appendices:
I. Battles Of/At
II. Heiau Name and/or Location
III. Mele and Chants
IV. Sayings - Hawaiian Ethnographic Notes (HEN Index)Index to Hawaiian ethnological material published in Hawaiian language newspapers and from other sources, translated by Mary Kawena Pukui.
BROWSE headings, such as
Heiau
Land
Lore
Place Names
Rain
Hawaiian Ethnological Notes are located at the Bishop Museum archives.
Historical Accounts of Places
- Legacy of the Landscape: An Illustrated Guide to Hawaiian Archaelogical Sites, by Patrick Vinton Kirch.Online not available.
Call number: Hawn GN875 .H3 K55 1996 (located in Hawn Place Names Ref, Hawn, and Hamilton) - Foreignersʻ Observations of Hawaii in the Early 1820s: A Selected Biography and Index to Journal Accounts, by, Cynthia D. KnightOnline not available.
Call number: Hawn Z4708 .A4 K58 1987 (located in Hawn Ref and Hawn)
Provides foreign views. - Thrumʻs Hawaiian Annual and Standard Guide, 1875-1963;1965,1967-1974Call number: Hawn DU622 .A4 (located in Hawn Ref serials and Hawn)
Check General index: 1875-1932 and Name index: 1875-1932 - Thrums Online

Loading...
