Articles about Places - Hawaiʻi - Place Names - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

"Mainstream" News

Honolulu Star-Advertiser
Hawaiʻi's main daily newspaper, "published its first edition June 7, 2010, combining the best of the 128-year-old Honolulu Star-Bulletin and the 154-year-old Honolulu Advertiser."
Honolulu Star-Advertiser ProQuest Database
Search the full-text content of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser (June 6, 2010 - present), the Honolulu Advertiser (Nov. 30, 2002-June 6, 2010) and the Honolulu Star-Bulletin (Mar. 18, 1996-June 6, 2010).
The Garden Isle News
The daily newspaper for Kauai.
Maui News
The daily newspaper for Maui.
Molokai Dispatch
The daily newspaper for Molokai.
Hawaii Tribune-Herald
The daily newspaper for Hawaii Island.
West Hawaii Today
News from Kona, (Big Island) Hawaii.
Pacific Business News
Local news journal devoted to reporting on business in Hawaiʻi

Civil Beat
"Dedicated to cultivating an informed body of citizens, all striving to make Hawaii a better place to live ... through investigative and watchdog journalism, in-depth enterprise reporting, analysis and commentary that gives readers a broad view on issues of importance to our community."
Hawaii Star
Launched in 2010 with roots going back to the early 1990s, vision is to be a "robust independent news outlet, a local publishing venue for original reporting and commentary."

Papakilo's Nūpepa Search
Collection of digitized Hawaiian language from 1843-1948 and more contemporary Hawaiian-related newspapers such as OHA's newsletter, Ka Wai Ola o OHA.
Chronicling America
Full-text articles from historic Hawaiʻi and U.S. newspapers, between 1836-1922 including newspapers from Maui, Kauaʻi and Hawaiʻi island. Also includes some Hawaiian language articles in the Hawaii Holomua newspapers.
Hawaii Reporter
Launched in "February 2002 as an independent, online news to cover key business, government, political and educational stories in Hawaii." Today it is now a "FREE online entertainment page" with volunteer contributors and no editor. Best to search your keywords in the search box to find archived articles on various issues pertaining to Hawaiʻi rather than browsing the homepage.

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI)
HPJI is searchable in OneSearch. To search, click the link above, replace the "Hawaii" with your keywords, and then click "Search."
HPJI is a citation index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covers all subject areas and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. Coverage dates back to the 1890s; all titles indexed are held in the print collections of Hamilton Library's Hawaiian and Pacific Collections. A listing of titles indexed in HPJI is available.