Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taxonomy - Finding Species Names
A multilingual database on the taxonomy of all fishes. Search by common name, scientific name, family, country/island, ecosystem, topic, tools, and references.
Catalog of Fishes
(California Academy of Sciences) Digital version of Catalog of Fishes
edited by William N. Eschmeyer.
(International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature) ZooBank is intended as the official registry of Zoological Nomenclature, according to the International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature (ICZN).
Encyclopedia of Life
EOL brings together trusted information from resources across the world such as museums, learned societies, expert scientists, and others into one massive database and a single, easy-to-use online portal.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Taxonomic information on animals, plants, fungi, and microbes created in collaboration with several international agencies. A partner of Species2000 and the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF).
(National Center for Biotechnology Information) The NCBI taxonomy database contains the names of all organisms that are represented in the genetic databases with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence. This database is searchable by both common and scientific names and provides lineages for many taxa as well as links to gene and protein data and other external Internet resources. The "Taxonomy Resources" link in the left hand column provides an extensive list of other Internet taxonomy guides and databases.
Need More Help?
Sci/Tech Department Email: