Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Journal Article Databases
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
via ProQuest 1971-current: A leading international aquatic database covering all aspects of the aquatic environment—aquaculture; technology; pollution; biotechnology; organic/inorganic resources. UHM Library ASFA LibGuide
CAB Direct (CAB Abstracts)
1910 - present: Citations with abstracts to international literature in the agricultural sciences and allied fields, including aquaculture. This database covers journals, monographs, conference proceedings, theses, technical reports, patents, and other sources, most with English-language abstracts. UHM Library CAB Direct LibGuide
via ProQuest 1981 - present: A leading index of journal articles in the subjects of marine biology, ocean engineering, oceanography and marine biology.
via Web of Science 1969 - present: Citations with abstracts for journal articles covering all aspects of the life sciences dealing with animals (including humans), plants and microorganisms. UHM Library Biological Abstracts LibGuide
Web of Science
via Web of Science 1980 - present: Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. Allows citation searching as well as searching by topic or author. UHM Library Web of Science LibGuide
(National Agricultural Library, USDA) PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. Open access; no login required.
Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
via Web of Science 1978 - present: Citations with abstracts for publications covering all aspects of zoology. Authoritative source on animal names and identification (taxonomy and systematics).
JSTOR provides full-text journal backfiles. Includes topics such as culture methods, traditional Hawaiian aquaculture, warmwater aquaculture, and raising specific species.
Going from Database Record to the Full-Text Article
Most of the Library's subscription databases enable you to connect directly from a citation record to the full-text article online, if available.
Click on the Find it link in the database record to search UHM electronic collections for the full-text article.
If we do not have access to the article in an online format (No Full Text available), search OneSearch to see if we have it available in print.
If we do not have the article in print or electronic format, select Request document via Interlibrary Loan to access the Interlibrary Loan online request form. Interlibrary Loan is a free service provided to you by the Library -- the article will be sent to you within a few days as a PDF file.
Some Recommended Journals
Need More Help?
Sci/Tech Department Email: