Research Guides: Festival of Pacific Arts: Home

Introduction

This guide was created to serve as a resource to students and researchers, at all levels, who might have in interest in Pacific arts, music, dance, and the Festival of Pacific Arts.

The impetus to create this guide came from a donation to the Hamilton Library's Pacific Collection by Mary Jo Freshley. The donation consists of raw footage of performances from nine Festivals of Pacific Arts. This footage has been digitized and presented in this guide. In addition to the donated videos, a variety of ephemera has been scanned, including festival posters, programs, booklets and news articles.

Not every festival represented on this site includes video but, when available, ephemeral items from each gathering have been scanned and added. All video details were provided by Mary Jo Freshley.

Sources

eVols
Digital copies of select material held by UHM Pacific Collection
Pacific Ephemera Collection
FOPA ephemera and posters are managed within this wider collection of ephemera. Look in folders 01.03 in both the regular and large formats.
Detailed list of UHM Pacific Collection FOPA ephemera
A detailed list of FOPA material held in the Pacific Ephemera Collection.
List compiled by Sydney Shansey.
USP FOPA ephemera
List provided by Gwen Rounds.
The Pacific Way
TV program produced by the SPC. FestPac was often featured on this program.
FestPac on the Pacific Way
This is a sub-set of the index to the Pacific Way, with just the stories about FestPac.
Videos by Mary Jo Freshley
Mary Jo Freshley took video of performances at multiple FestPacs, and these were donated to the UHM Pacific Collection. Access these from on the Festival pages on this libguide.

OneSearch Manoa
Web-scale discovery tool for finding millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search. Includes the UH Voyager Catalog plus a huge index of academic journals on most topics. Also includes conference papers, maps, government documents, music scores, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

Senior Librarian, Pacific Collection

Stu Dawrs

Email Me

Contact:

Pacific Collection, Hamilton Library

Fifth Floor, Office 512
Hamilton Library
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu. HI 96822
(808) 956-9779

Subjects: Pacific