Citation Styles & Tools - FSHN 451 - Community Nutrition - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Using Bibliographic Management Tools to Organize

Endnote [$65 for program from ITS] | Guide to Using Endnote

Endnote is an application that imports citations from your searches in web databases and helps you organize your references. It works with Microsoft Word helping you create in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies.

Endnote Basic [Free] | Guide to Using Endnote Basic

EndNote Basic (formerly EndNote Web) is an online program that helps you organize references and create properly formatted bibliographies. This is a separate program from the desktop version of EndNote. It is a free version of EndNote available for institutions which subscribe to ISI Databases, like Web of Science.

Mendeley [Free] | Guide to Using Mendeley

Mendeley allows you to share references with others or to maintain a private library. Mendeley collections can be exported to Endnote, CiteULike, or Zotero libraries. Mendeley works with Word 2008 and OpenOffice to insert citations into your documents. It enables you to extract citation information from downloaded pdfs.

Zotero [Free] | LibGuide to Using Zotero

Zotero is a plug-in from Mozilla that you use with the Firefox browser. Simply download the plug-in, activate the Zotero application by clicking on the Zotero icon in your browser. You can now capture citations into a library held on your hard drive or on a flash drive. Zotero works with Word and OpenOffice after you have downloaded the plug-ins.

Citation Style Guides

AMA MANUAL of STYLE, 11th EDITION by American Medical Association The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates are included in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updated guidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-date on word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations. Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer to nearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.
Call Number: Main Reference (Library Use Only) R119 .A533 2020
ISBN: 9780190246556
Publication Date: 2020

Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior
JNEB uses a slightly modified form of the AMA citation style, issue numbers are not included in journal citations. Note the use of journal title abbreviations! To find the full journal title from an abbreviation, try the PubMed Journals Database

A print copy of complete guide, AMA manual of style: a guide for authors and editors (10th ed) is available in the Reference Collection- Ref R119 .A533 2007.

Examples using JNEB style:

Journal Article

Serlachius A, Northam E, Frydenberg E, Cameron, F. Adapting a generic coping skills programme for adolescents with type 1 diabetes: A qualitative study. J Health Psychol, 2012;17:313-323.

Online Journal- Basic Format

Marreiros HF, Loff C, Calado E. Osteoporosis in paediatric patients with spina bifida. J Spinal Cord Med. 2012; 35:9-21. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22330186 Accessed March 28, 2012.

Online Journal-DOI Number

Markowitz JT, & Laffel LM. Transitions in care: support group for young adults with type1 diabetes. Diabet Med. 2012; 29: 522-525. doi: 10.1111/j.1464-5491.2011.03537.x.
Book
Glanz K, Rimer BK, Lewis FM, eds. Health Behavior and Health Education: Theory, Research, and Practice. 3rd ed. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Publishers; 2002.
Book Chapter
Baranowski T, Perry CL, Parcel GS. How individuals, environments, and health behavior interact. In: Glanz K, Rimer BK, Lewis FM, eds. Health Behavior and Health Education: Theory, Research, and Practice. 3rd ed. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Publishers; 2002.165-184.

Bibliographic Management Tools

Why Cite?

Citing the work that supports your research is both an ethical issue and a legal issue.

The ethics of citing is based on the scholarly tradition of giving credit for information and ideas that are not one's own. Science has a long tradition of acknowledging priority through citations. You have the ethical responsibility to cite all works that were used to support your research, to give credit to the earlier work and to provide a clear path for those who follow in your footsteps.

As so eloquently expressed by Isaac Newton in a letter to Robert Hooke in 1675 (Merton 1965):

If I have seen further it is by standing on ye sholders of Giants.

The legal issues of citing one's sources are codified in Copyrights, Title 17 of the U.S. Code, which describes the legal protections of authors' and creators' intellectual property rights.

[Merton, RK. 2006. On the shoulders of giants: a Shandean postscript. New York: The Free Press. p. 31]