Research Guides: OneSearch Mānoa Help: Get Started

What is OneSearch Manoa?

OneSearch is a discovery tool for searching the Library's catalog, and library databases and article indexes. Your results will include citations of resources or links to access materials online.

Search Basics

1) To find a specific book, type in your desired title. It will search the OneSearch catalog, the index to the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands Archives, ScholarSpace, and eVols.

Click the magnifying glass icon or ENTER key when finished.

OneSearch Manoa search box with "the great gatsby"

To select for books, on the left side of the search screen, under Resource Type and click on Show More. Select Books and click on Apply Filter at the bottom of the page.

Resource Type facet with Books checked and an arrow pointing to Apply Filters.

2) This search should lead you to a results page that has entries for books.

Results page entry with The great Gatsby

Each entry generally includes the title, the author, publishing date(s), subject headings, where this book is located, and more.

3) To see where this item is located, click on the Locations link on the bottom of each entry.

Results entry for The great Gatsby with the location circled. Available at UH Manoa Hamilton Library Main (PS3511.I9 G837 1986)

By clicking on this link, a detailed record opens up to display what campus this item is located at, the call number of the item, and if the item is available or not.

Location Items UH Hamilton Library Available

If the book is available electronically, it will have an Available Online link.

Result-book entry Ethology and Behavioral Ecology of Odontocetes Available Online

Clicking on the Available Online link brings you to link for the ebook.

Ebook showing full text availability -Springer eBooks

1) To find a specific article, type in part or all of your desired title in the search box and select Articles + in the drop-down menu.

Articles + will search a massive journal index called Primo Central Index (a subscription database of millions of scholarly journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, e-books, and legal documents), plus the Hawaii Pacific Journal Index, ScholarSpace, and eVols.

When finished, click on the SEARCH button or ENTER key.

Note: You can also search by the article's author (Last name, First name).

Search screen showing how to look for articles by clicking on Articles+ from the dropdown menu .

2) This search should lead you to a results page with entries for articles that match your search terms.

Article entitled Follow that fish: Uncovering the hidden blue economy in coral reef fisheries. It is showing that it is Available Online.

A typical entry will mention the article's title, information about the journal in which this article is located, the article's author's name, and other relevant information.

3) When an article is available in full-text online, an link will appear. Click on it to see your options for viewing the article.

Article entitled Follow that fish: Uncovering the hidden blue economy in coral reef fisheries. It is showing that it is Available Online.

This will appear in the center of the record. Select an option for full text. This should open up a new window or browser tab with full text article.

List of options for full text availability for the article.

If the article is in a print journal, the Check Holdings link will display the call number. Click on the link to see the print journal holdings available.

Article with print journal holdings.

This will list the print journals.

A more detailed record of print holdings for article.

When it is not available, the entry will be tagged as To learn how to request an article that is not available either online or in the library, review the Questions About Finding Journal Articles section of the FAQ to learn more.

An improvement over the Voyager catalog system is the addition of the "Tweak my results" function on a results page. This function allows you to exclude results and reduce the number of items retrieved. You can refine your results by the following categories:

Sort: Default is by relevance or change to sort by date-newest, author, title
Availability: peer-reviewed journals, online only, open access
Resource Type: articles, books, electronic resources, conference proceedings, etc.
Institution: the library within the UH System that has the item
Location: the section of the UH Manoa library in which item is located
Creation Date: clusters the dates of publication of the resources
Genre: type of resource; fiction, statistics, congresses, etc.
Subject: subject headings assigned to the book, article, or other resource
Language: results published in a selected language
Author: personal or corporate author or creator
Journal Title: results from specific journal titles
Collection: results from electronic resources so you can tell which ones are most relevant for your topic
Data Source: collection within the library which holds item

In Advanced Search, you have the option to limit your search in various ways. You can use any combination of these limiters to eliminate results that you do not want and concentrate on those that are of most interest.

Advanced Screen with fields explained.

#1 limits your search by Any field, Title, Author/Creator, Subject, Holding Call Number, ISBN and ISSN.

#2 is used directly in conjunction with #1 and contains contains, is (exact), and starts with (title only)..

#3 allows you to limit searches to a particular Search Scope: Everything, This Library, All UH Libraries, Articles, Ebsco Search, Course Reserves, and Institutional Repository.

#4 allows you limit your search results by Material type (e.g., books, journals, articles, video/film, sound recordings, images, dissertations and newspapers., Language (some included are: English, Hawaiian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French, German, Spanish, Russian), and Publication date.

OneSearch has a number of search features that can help you find what you are looking for.

Search for a phrase
Type quotation marks around the phrase to search for a phrase. If you do not enclose the phrase with quotation marks, the system will find more items that contain the individual words in the phrase, regardless of whether these words are located next to each other in the order specified.

Image of the search box with the example: "Global warming"

Search for synonym words or phrases
You can search for items that contain similar and related words or phrases. To do so, type OR between the words and phrases. OR must be capitalized, otherwise OneSearch will think you are looking for the word "or" in your search.

Image of the search box with the example: Irish OR Celtic

Exclude words or phrases
You can exclude items that contain specific words or phrases. To do so, type NOT and then type the word or phrase to exclude. NOT must be capitalized, other OneSearch will think you are looking for the word "not" in your search.

Image of the search box with the example: Irish NOT Celtic

Search using wildcard question mark character
The question mark ? will perform a single character wildcard search. This search will find records that contain the words woman and women.

Image of the search box with the example: wom?n

Search using the wildcard asterisk character
The asterisk * will perform a multiple character wildcard search. This search will find records that contain the words culture, cultural, and culturally.

Image of the search box with the example: cultur*

Group terms within a query
You can use parentheses to group terms within a query. This search will find you Shakespeare and either tragedy OR sonnet.

For items located in the Hawaiian & Pacific Collections (Hamilton Library) and in the Wong Audiovisual Center, you will need to request the them through OneSearch Mānoa in order to be able to borrow them. You may also use this feature to request that books in other collections or at other libraries in the UH System be pulled for you by library staff and placed on hold at the circulation desks at Hamilton or Sinclair Library.

To do this, you will need to follow these steps:

Use OneSearch Mānoa to find the item.
When item is found, click on the Locations link at the bottom of the entry.
Click on the "Sign-in" link in the yellow box.
Sign in with your UH username and password.
Once signed in, you can click on Request Specific Copy. Choose Pickup Date and hit Send Request.

Image of the Get it function with the Request Specific Copy circled.

To request most items, click on the Request Specific Copy link. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa as Pickup Institution and Location. Image of Request Specific Copy link and selecting the University of Hawaii at Manoa as Pickup Institution and Location from the dropdown menu.