University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Biology Information Literacy Part I: Resources & the Library: Finding Journal Articles

How to Go from the Database Record to the Full Article: an example using Web of Science in 6 Easy Steps

STEP 1) LOGIN


STEP 2) SEARCH



STEP 3) IDENTIFY ARTICLE TO DOWNLOAD


STEP 4) CLICK THE FULL TEXT LINK, THEN THE FIND IT LINK


STEP 5) CLICK THE FULL TEXT AVAILABLE LINK


STEP 6) DOWNLOAD THE ARTICLE PDF

Finding Keywords for Your Search

Good keywords help you shorten the time you spend sifting through hundreds of articles of questionable value. Using appropriate keywords can improve the number and relevance of articles in your search results. Developing keywords is a skill that improves with practice. Searches are often iteritive processes, where you start with one or two terms and refine your terms as you go along. The following resources introduce you to the basic steps for developing keywords:



Choosing and Using Keywords
by John M. Pfau Library, CSUSB

Databases and articles for UH Mānoa

There are an estimated 24,000 scientific journals publishing over 1 million articles a year (Björk et al, 2008). When hunting through the published literature for articles to support your research, you need to figure out where to look. Using databases, you can sort through many records to find the few relevant articles out of the millions of published articles.

Many of the journals and article databases linked to in this guide are restricted for use by UH Mānoa students, faculty, and staff.  UH Web Login Service is used to provide access outside of the Library to authorized users.

Finding Journal Articles Using Article Databases

Much like the catalog is used to find books, databases are used to find journal articles.  Here are some databases to check out when getting started on a topic:
(For a more comprehensive list of scientific article databases see SciTech Databases A-Z.)