Boolean OperatorsTruncationPhrase SearchingFilters
CollectionsFiltersSave Searches
This is the "Introduction" page of the "Getting the Most out of PubMed Medline" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ask Us Library Catalog Research Tools University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Getting the Most out of PubMed Medline   Tags: bioethics, biomedical, medical, nursing, public health  

Last Updated: Jun 26, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/pubmed Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 

Accessing PubMed Medline

You can access PubMed Medline from the link below, or from the main library webpage via the Featured Resources menu:

Select featured resources pull down menu

  • PubMed Medline
    Provides free access to over 23 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. If the University of Hawaii at Manoa (UHM) Library has a subscription to the full-text site, logged in users will be able to view the full-text. To view the citations with UHM links, change the "Display" drop-down menu to "Abstract".
 

What is PubMed Medline?

PubMed Medline is a leading bibligraphic database managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the Nation Library of Medicine (NLM).  PubMed contents cover a wide array of medical fields, including: 

  • clinical medicine
  • dentistry
  • nursing
  • public health
  • preclinical research
  • veterinary medicine

One of the unique features of the PubMed Medline database is the use of Medical Subject Headings, or MeSH.  Take a look through this guide to learn more about the features in PubMed Medline as well as how best to use MeSH in your searches!

 

New and Noteworthy

Recent enhancements and changes to PubMed and the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) Database

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Subject Librarian

More PubMed Help

For more help using PubMed, try out one these resources:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip