Dance Research Guide

This guide is intended to help students and faculty at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa find information resources. Use this guide to find reference sources, articles and books for research in History.

Depending on your research, you may need to use one or more of the collections in the UHM Library.

The UHM collections contain over 307,000 books and over 2,000 periodicals and other serials supporting interests in history, as well as thousands of other books and journals in related fields.

• Hamilton Library houses the Business, Humanities & Social Sciences Collection, which covers history from around the world, emphasizing the United States and Europe.
• The Asia Collection at University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library is the most significant collection of Asian materials in the State of Hawaii and in the Pacific. It dates from 1920, when the Board of Regents established the Japanese Department at the University of Hawaii.
• The Hawaiian & Pacific Collections are internationally recognized research collections. All formats, languages, subjects, eras and levels of treatment are collected. Each Collection also includes manuscripts and archives, such as Hawaiian Sugar Planters' Association (HSPA) Plantation Archives, Dole Corporation Archives, and Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands Archives.  These Collections have their own reference service, circulation counter and hours.
• The Library's Government Documents Department is a federal depository of United States government documents and has a selective collection of United Nations documents.
• Hamilton Library houses the Music Collection and the Wong AV Center, where you will find DVDs, CDs and more.