Research Guides: Dance Research Guide: Find Articles

Indexes, Abstracts, Full Text Databases

Read this first. Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps to find journals (see box to the right).

Academic Search Complete This database provides full text for 3,288 scholarly publications from many academic disciplines including social sciences, humanities, education, language and linguistics, arts & literature, and ethnic studies. It is a good starting point and enables researchers to search a single topic across many disciplines.
JSTOR The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
ProQuest Search across 30+ databases hosted by ProQuest covering all subjects NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance The definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. It is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals, and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) IIPA's current content draws from more than 130 international periodicals and also indexes articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online is a new gateway that offers users the ability to access and cross-search the vast resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. Searchable resources include: the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music.

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online The Garland encyclopaedia of world music online contains more than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world. Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies.

Select Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD.

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

Content from more than 130 international periodicals. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. NOTE: Only 4 users allowed at one time. If you cannot login, try again later.

JSTOR

The Library has access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII and VIII collections, as well as Life Sciences collection. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

Project Muse

Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities

Reference Librarian

Sarah Nakashima

Email Me

Useful Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Some of the databases provide full-text coverage of journals.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Find It or search the library catalog for the article title (or journal title). This will provide you with Hamilton's access to the article (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than only using OneSearch).

Find Journals

When you have a citation to an article and need to determine if the library has the journal that contains it, search for the journal name.