Skip to main content

Government Documents - A Guide to the Collections: Home

Government Documents Collection home page, with links to guides about our holdings of U.S. and intergovernmental publications and related electronic resources.

COVID-19 Information

The University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library is currently closed in compliance with state efforts to stop the spread of COVID-19. We in the Government Documents Collection are working and are available to answer reference questions by email (govdocs@hawaii.edu) or telephone (808-956-8230). We can provide copies of documents when possible. UHM students, faculty, and staff may borrow material from our print collection. Unfortunately, it is not possible to access the collection at present.

covid-19 photograph

Last update: 24 March 2020

About the Government Documents Collection

Location: Hamilton Library, ground floor (basement)

Reference hours: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday; other hours by appointment

Contact us Telephone: (808) 956-8230

Government Documents staff

The Government Documents Collection is comprised of two collections:

The Federal Documents Collection

The United Nations Collection

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code).

Documents from the State of Hawai`i are kept in the Hawaiian Collection.

Find Books

To locate publications and documents in the Government Documents Collection:

Learn about the SuDocs classification system

These tutorials will familiarize you with the SuDoc system used to arrange federal documents on the shelf:

We support Census 2020 badge

View our instructional videos

View instructional videos related to government information.