Skip to Main Content

Dance Research Guide

Public Websites

A sample of digital collections featuring film and images.

The collection preserves culturally significant recordings that document global and U.S. dance traditions, creative work by outstanding choreographers and performers, and performances that helped to advance the art form.

New online video archives showcasing performances from America's longest-running international dance festival

  • Katherine Dunham Collection
    Consists of moving image materials that document the extraordinary journey of a woman who changed the face of American modern dance. Selected materials, including videos of dance technique and fieldwork, are available via this Web presentation.

Numeridanse is a multimedia dance platform. It offers free access to a unique video base: filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos. Every single genre, style and form is showcased here Limit results by text, images or videos.

  • NYPL Jermone Robbins Dance Division
    The Jerome Robbins Dance Division of The New York Public Library is the largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance. The Digital Gallery contains some 4,814 items from the collection including programs from the American tour of the Ballets Russes, Joffrey Ballet slides, and prints depicting dance.
  • Siobhan Davies Archive
    This is the first online dance archive in the UK and contains thousands of fully searchable digital records including moving image, still image, audio and text.
  • Movement Research: Critical Correspondence
    Critical Correspondence provides a forum for diverse engagements with artistic practice, research, and the contexts that surround the field of dance. It publishes timely and in-depth content in multiple formats, including interviews, experimental and scholarly writing, podcasts and video projects.