University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

PACS601/602/603: Researching Oceania: Creative and Conventional Methods of Inquiry

Researching Oceania: Creative and Conventional Methods of Inquiry

Aloha Mai!

This library guide is meant as a starting point for students doing graduate level research in Pacific Islands Studies. This page is intended to give you an overview of where you will find different types of information resources, both within the UH-Manoa Library (and UH system) and via other sources. The Research Strategies tab at left links to information on general searching techniques, as well as information on how to search for specific types of material (photographs, films and audio recordings, and so forth). The Online Resources tab provides links to a wide variety of material, including to additional subject-specific library guides. Before getting started, you may also want to refer to this checklist for Pacific Islands Studies literature reviews.

Where Things Are: Books, films, journals, magazines, newspapers, government reports, photograph collections, archival/manuscript collections.

This is a general overview of where to find various types of resources. More specific searching information can be found using the tabs in the left hand margin of this page.

Voyager
Voyager is the online catalog for all libraries in the University of Hawai'i System. When you search the catalog, unless you otherwise limit it, you are searching the library holdings of every UH library in the state, including the University of Hawai'i-Manoa. Speaking very generally, when you search in Voyager, you are looking for the titles, authors, publishers, or subjects of books (in both physical and electronic formats); periodicals (anything that is regularly published: newspapers, scholarly journals, "popular press" magazines, annual reports and so forth); audio-visual materials (films, audio recordings, photographic collections); and archival/manuscript collections. For the most part, Voyager does not search for the titles of journal or magazine articles (there are a few rare exceptions). A simple rule of thumb when thinking about what Voyager searches is that (for the most part) it searches the kind of information you would find on the cover of a book, or on a DVD jacket: Title, author, publisher, subject. Voyager does not search the full text of materials. It is also important to note that Voyager does not fully search the library's online digital repositories, Scholarspace and eVols.

Scholarspace & eVols
The Library maintains two online, open-access digital repositories: Scholarspace and eVols. These contain digital versions of various types of material: some (not all) dissertations and theses; some (not all) books; some (you get the point) journals; published and unpublished papers; and so forth. The difference between the two repositories is that Scholarspace houses material produced by people who in one way or another are affiliated with the University of Hawaii (so for instance, you will find a huge repository of material created by students and faculty from CPIS here); eVols contains material that was produced by people outside of the University.

OneSearch Manoa
‚Äč
OneSearch Manoa is a "search overlay" that allows you to search across a variety of different databases. Among others, it searches in Voyager, Scholarspace and eVols simultaneously, so you could potentially use OneSearch to look for books, journals, films and so forth (many people do in fact use OneSearch this way). However, for Hawaii- and Pacific-related, graduate-level research, in most cases it is better to start with a more contained search, using Voyager and the digital repositories separately, and then broadening out to use tools like OneSearch.

WorldCat
WorldCat is essentially Voyager on a global scale: It searches the library holdings of hundreds of libraries throughout the world, including the University of Hawai'i. In most cases, for Hawaii- and Pacific-related research, it's again best to start with Voyager (because we attempt to collect everything on the subject already, and because Voyager is a bit more contained than WorldCat), and then move out from there. On the flipside, when you do find something in WorldCat that is not at UH-Manoa, you can directly request it via Interlibrary Loan (so if you ever have a citation for something that you can't find in Voyager, search for it in WorldCat -- if you find it there, you can request a copy to be sent to our library for your use.)

Google Books
Google Books can sometimes be used as an add-on to Voyager, in that it searches the full-text of many (but not all) books -- in this way, you can sometimes use Google Books to find information that Voyager would not necessarily pick up (since, again, Voyager does not search full text). Keep in mind that any Pacific-related book you discover using Google Books should be available in hard copy in the Pacific Collection (in many cases, Google Books will not allow you to read full-text of books it finds). For more on using Google Books as an adjunct to Voyager, see the "Research Strategies" tab.