Research Guides: PACS601/602/603: Researching Oceania: Creative and Conventional Methods of Inquiry: Motion Pictures & Audio Recordings

Finding videos, music, etc. with OneSearch

OneSearch Manoa
Go to the "Advanced Search". Type your search terms into the Search box. Select "Video/Film" or "Sound recordings" from the "Material Type" drop down menu to the right.

Online Film Resources

Docuseek2
Docuseek2 includes a small selection of Pacific-related documentary films, including Advertising Missionaries (PNG), Arrows Against the Wind (West Papua), ,i>Rising Waters (sea-level rise in the Pacific), Standing on Sacred Ground: Profit and Loss (PNG and elsewhere),
more...less...
Note: OneSearch does not search the contents of the Docuseek2 database -- to find films held in this database, you will need to search directly within it.

Ethnographic Video Online: Volume III, Indigenous Voices
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. It's also a resource for a study of the discipline itself: By placing examples of traditional ethnographic methodologies alongside indigenous-made films representing previously overlooked perspectives, scholars, teachers and students of anthropology can gain a sense of the discipline's history and of its future direction.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand provides streaming access to educational videos in the humanities, social and natural sciences, business and health.
View Films on Demand tutorial

Hawaii & Pacific Streaming Films
This guide contains links to numerous online-streaming Hawaii- or Pacfic-related films that have been digiized from the library's physical film holdings. UH login is required to view most of these films.
Internet Archive : Movies
A collection of open-access films. Use the "advanced search" mode for better results.

Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy is a "Netflix-like" video platform for college campuses. UH-Manoa licenses select videos from the platform for course reserves. Covering many topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, New Day Films.

Micronesian Seminar videos
The Micronesian Seminar video studio has produced more than 68 videos on health care, migration, history, youth, land, education, economics, business, and social issues. Most are available for free online viewing.
Moving Images of the Pacific Islands : A Guide To Films and Videos
This database of over 3,400 entries is produced by the UH-Manoa Center for Pacific Islands Studies, and is intended as a reference for those interested in films related to the Pacific Islands.
NZ On Screen
A wide array of documentary and feature films produced in Aotearoa/NZ, most of which are available for free online viewing.

Selected Streaming Films

Hamilton Library's Harry C. & Nee-Chang Wong Audiovisual Center (commonly known as the Wong AV Center), has for several years been reformatting films that were only available via obsolete formats (for instance, 16mm film, VHS or BETA tapes). The emphasis for this work has been on Hawai'i- and Pacific-related films. Below is a sampling of the films available through this project -- the first three films below have been selected because they show how the Wong AV Center collections might be used to track changes in an island culture over time; the others show the variety of films available. Because of copyright restrictions, the majority of these films are only available to UH users with a valid ID. To view a more complete list of streaming Hawai'i films click here. For Pacific films, click here. All streaming videos are also searchable via the Library's OneSearch online catalog.

A glimpse of Upolu, or, Western Samoa
Call Number: UH Streaming Videos
A travelog of Western Samoa, discussing its geographical, historical, and social significance. Includes views of Vailima, the home of Robert Louis Stevenson, and of his tomb at the summit of Mt. Vaea.
Samoa i sisifo by Juniper Films
Call Number: UH Streaming Videos
Publication Date: 1977
Reveals how traditional values and progressive development have become interwoven in Western Samoa. Shows the utilization of better methods to raise poultry, gather food, and catch fish.
The Samoan family in the context of change. by Stephanie Shaefer
Call Number: UH Streaming Videos
Publication Date: 1986
Shows differences in conflict resolution involving Samoan youth in Samoa and Hawaii.
Staying on course : a Pacific Island perspective by Jose Ferraris
Call Number: UH Streaming Videos
Publication Date: 1999
Highlights the progress that Pacific Island countries have made since the 1994 International Conference on Population and Development towards achieving access to quality reproductive health services and a balance between population, social and economic development.
Bougainville in crisis by Sean Dorney
Call Number: UH Streaming Videos
Publication Date: 1990
Compilation of coverage, Nov. 1988 through Mar. 1990, of the insurgency relating to the conflict between landowners of Bougainville and the Bougainville Copper Limited operators. Reporters from ABC TV News, notably Sean Dorney, and 7.30 report contribute analyses.
Kanaky au pouvoir = Power to the Kanak people by Kathy Dudding
Call Number: UH Streaming Videos
Interviews with Kanak militants in New Caledonia outline the history of French rule since they took over the territory 135 years ago. Portrays the continued French military response to the Kanak people's demands for independence, from 1853 up through the killing of 19 militants in 1988. Shows a tribal village where a school and cooperative have been set up. Highlights activist Susannah Ounei and women's concerns. Some interviews in French with English subtitles.