University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Communication & Journalism Research Guide: Find Newspapers

Honolulu Star Advertiser (and Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star Bulletin)

Honolulu Star Advertiser
(Published June 2010 to present when the Star Bulletin and the Honolulu Advertiser merged)

Digital Web Version: requires a personal subscription
Print Edition: Newspaper Stacks - Hamilton, Hawaiian and Sinclair
Microform: Hamilton Library has from June 10, 2010 to the present in the Microform Reading Room, First Floor (Microfilm S53364 )
Full-text Electronic Articles: For articles from June 2010 to 1 day before current issue, use the
Honolulu Star Advertiser Index Licensed for UHM use only

To Find Citations
* For citations to articles published from June 2010 to the present (excluding the last two months), use the Hawaii Newspaper Index
* For full-text articles published from June 2010 to 1 day before current issue, use the Honolulu Star Advertiser Index Licensed for UHM use only

Honolulu Advertiser
(Published 1882 - June 2010 when it merged to became the Star Advertiser)

Microform: The Hamilton Library has 1882 - 1910 in the Microform Reading Room, First Floor (Microfilm S90014 and V90001)
Full-text Electronic Articles: For full-text articles published from 2002 to 2010, use the
Honolulu Advertiser Licensed for UHM use only

To Find Citations:
* For citations to articles published from 1929 through 1994, use the Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star Bulletin 1929-1994, a print
   resource in the Hamilton Library Reference Area (call number AI221.H6 I5 - Reference Stacks or Hawaii-Pacific Collection on the 5th floor). Ulukau 
   also offers an index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin from 1929 to 1969.
* For citations to articles published from 1989 to 2010, use the Hawaii Newspaper Index
* For full-text articles published from 2002 to 2010, use the
Honolulu Advertiser Licensed for UHM use only

Honolulu Star Bulletin
(Published 1893 - June 2010 when it merged to became the Star Advertiser)

Microform: Hamilton Library has from 1893 to the present in the Microform Reading Room, First Floor (Microfilm S90015, S91296, V90002, and V91258).
Full-text Electronic Articles: For full-text articles published from 1996 to 2010, use the Honolulu Star Bulletin 
Licensed for UHM use only

To Find Citations:
* For citations to articles published from 1929 through 1994, use the Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and the Honolulu Star Bulletin 1929-1994, a print 
  resource in the Hamilton Library Reference Area (call number AI221.H6 I5 - Reference Stacks and Hawaii-Pacific Collection on the 5th floor). Ulukau
  also offers an index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin from 1929 to 1969.
* For citations to articles from 1989 to 2010, use the Hawaii Newspaper Index

* For full-text articles published from 1996 to 2010, use the Honolulu Star Bulletin Licensed for UHM use only

News Sources on the Web

AllYouCanRead.com
Database of magazines and newspapers on the Internet from all over the world

DocumentCloud
Search for public documents and investigative news stories

Newseum
Displays the front pages of International and National newspapers in their original, unedited form

Newspaper Map
Click on a newspaper in any country and translate it into multiple languages

World Newspapers and Magazine
World newspapers, magazines, and news sites in English, sorted by country and region

National & International Newspapers

Washington Post
Offers a free subscription for.gov/.mil/.edu. Follow the steps provided by the Washington Post Help Desk
 

Alternative Newspapers