Library of Congress - Government Documents - Congress, Laws, and Legislation - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

*

The Library of Congress (LC) was founded in 1800 and is the largest library in the world. Its mission is " to support the Congress in fulfilling its constitutional duties and to further the progress of knowledge and creativity for the benefit of the American people" (LC website). In addition to having a vast collection of books, maps, films, photographs, and other material, LC also has robust digital collections and programs. LC also houses the Copyright Office.

The Library of Congress
Visit the Library of Congress's website
History of the Library of Congress

"The Law Library of Congress produces reports on foreign, comparative, and international law in response to requests from Members of Congress, Congressional staff and committees, the federal courts, executive branch agencies, and others."-Website

Law Library of Congress

HeinOnline: Modern Link to Legal History
HeinOnline includes the Law Library of Congress Reports, a collection of over 3,000 reports on foreign, comparative, and international law written by the Law Library of Congress.

LC digital collections
American Memory
Provides access to still and moving images, as well as written and spoken words, sound recordings, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas. (Library of Congress)
American Memory - Map Collections - Hawai'i
The Library of Congress maintains this collection of maps and atlases. Subjects range from cultural to conservation and military battles to exploration and transportation.

Government Documents has a partial collection of LC publications. Our holdings of Library of Congress publications are fully cataloged and searchable in OneSearch. Titles include the following:

Annual Report of the Librarian of Congress
Call Number: GOVD LC 1.1:
Information Bulletin
Call Number: GOVD LC 1.18:

Library of Congress YouTube Channel
Library of Congress videos in the FDLP Academy
View instructional videos about a variety of LC services and collections.
Legal Research Institute Webinars and Events
Recordings of webinars and events held by the Law Library of Congress. Topics include international law, indigenous law, and human rights.

Subject Guide