HUD/FHA - Government Documents - HUD and Housing-related Agencies - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Contact HUD

HUD Local Offices

About the Agency and Its Information Resources

The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) has its origins in the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) and the Public Housing Administration, established in the 1930s. The Housing and Home Finance Agency, HUD's precedessor, was created in 1947. In 1965, HUD was established as a cabinet-level agency. HUD provides funding for public housing, public facilities, and community development programs, and it provides loan guarantees. FHA administers mortgage guarantee programs to enable families to become homeowners. HUD also funds the point-in-time counts of homeless persons that are conducted by community groups in each state.

HUD records at National Archives
HUD Bibliographic database
"The HUD USER Bibliographic Database contains more than 10,000 full-abstract citations to research reports, articles, books, monographs, and data sources in housing policy, building technology, economic development, urban planning, and a host of other relevant fields. "
HUD online library
Find publications and other information in broad categories such as homelessness, fair housing, and housing research.
HUD Datasets
HUD datasets contain information about programs, data from housing surveys, program participation data, and HUD-sponsored research.
HUD grants information
Government Accountability Office
The GAO produces reports about HUD's performance and activities at the request of members of Congress.

Approximately 25% of our extensive collection of HUD documents is cataloged. Here are some examples of HUD publications in our collection:

HUD handbooks
Call Number: GOVD HH 1.6/6:
Housing and urban development trends
Call Number: GOVD HH 1.14:
Challenge
Call Number: GOVD HH 1.36:
Official journal of HUD

We also have copies of laws, regulations, Congressional hearings, and other documents related to housing, urban development, mortgage loans, fair housing, etc.

Homelessness in the United States, 2017: HUD’s Point-in-Time Estimates of Homelessness in the U.S.
"Viewers will learn how to find and understand U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) data about homelessness among individuals, families, youth, and veterans."
HUDchannel on YouTube
Find instructional videos about getting housing assistance, avoiding scams, housing discrimination, and other topics.
C-SPAN
C-SPAN hosts Congressional hearings about HUD's budget, programs, leadership, and activities.

Data.HUD.gov
HUD datasets
Annual Point-In-Time (PIT) Homeless Count (2017-present)
Statistics from PIT surveys of homeless individuals in Hawai‘i.

Statistical yearbook
Call Number: GOVD HH 1.38:

Please refer to the Bureau of the Census tab for information about housing data and statistics from the Census of Population and Housing and other Census surveys.