Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hawaiian Legends and Proverbs
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau: Hawaiian Proverbs & Poetical Sayings by
Call Number: PN6519.H4 P84 1983
Publication Date: 1983
Searchable online through HathiTrust.
You must be logged in to HathiTrust - click the yellow “LOG IN” button on a HathiTrust page, select “University of Hawaii” and log in using your UH login credentials.
Collections of Hawaiian Literature
Fornander Collection of Hawaiian Antiquities and Folk-lore by
Call Number: AM101 .B4473 (vol. 4-6)
Publication Date: 1985
Accounts of Hawaiian origins, traditions, history and legends gathered from unattributed original sources. Divided in three volumes numbered 4-6: 4) covers story of islands' formation and origins, Aukelenuiaiku, Moikeha, Kila, Umi, Kihapiilani, Lonoikamakahiki, Kualii, and various legends; 5) covers Kawelo, Pakaa, Kuapakaa, and various legends; 6) covers religion, fishing, cultivation, games and sports, origins, migrations, voyaging, genealogy, chants and songs.
Hawaiian antiquities = (Moolelo Hawaii) by
Call Number: DU625 .M252 1971
Publication Date: 1971
Earlier edition: 1951
A definitive resource upon which much scholarship is now based, Malo's work provides a look at the traditions as they existed in the first half of the 19th century. It includes some of the prayers and beliefs that pertained to the building of a canoe.
Contemporary Hawaiian Authors
Works of Hawaiian authors are regularly published in the following journals.