Skip to Main Content

Hawaiʻi - Hawaiian Communication: A Bibliography on Hawaiian Folklore, Mythology, Literature, Music, Hula: Contact H&P Librarians

Hawaii - Hawaiian Communication

Why Contact Us?

Feel free to contact us ...

to consult with us on assignments (e.g. to see whether there are sufficient resources available)

to arrange a class hold for materials at the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections

Not Sure Who To Contact?

Call or e-mail us, and you will be put in contact with someone who will help you.

Hawaiian and Pacific Collections
(808) 956-8264
hawnpac@hawaii.edu

Hawaiian & Pacific Collections Hours

Reading Room and Reference

Spring 2024 (January 8 - May 12, 2024)

Mon-Fri, 10 am - 5 pm
Sun, 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm (only on 4/14, 4/21, 4/28, 5/5)
* Closed on holidays: Mon 1/15, Mon 2/19, Tues 3/26, Fri 3/29

Spring Break 2024 (March 18 - 22)

Mon-Fri, 10 am - 2 pm

Interim Week May 2024 (May 13-17)

Mon-Fri, 10 am - 2 pm

Summer 2024 (May 13 - August 9)

Mon-Fri, 10 am - 5 pm
* Closed on holidays: Mon 5/27, Tues 6/11, and Thurs 7/4

Interim Week August 2024 (August 12 - August 15)

Mon-Thur, 10 am - 2 pm
* Closed on holidays: Fri 8/16

Fall 2024 (August 19 - December 15)

Mon-Fri, Hours forthcoming

Winter Break 2024 (December 16 - January 5)

Mon-Fri, Hours forthcoming

HP librarians

Dore Minatodani
Senior Librarian
Hawaiian Collection
dorem@hawaii.edu
808-956-2852
Office: 507
Jodie Mattos
Librarian
Hawaiian Collection
jodie@hawaii.edu
808-956-2851
Office: 511
Kapena Shim
Librarian
Hawaiian Collection
kapena@hawaii.edu
808-956-9296
Office: 508
Stu Dawrs
Senior Librarian
Pacific Collection
dawrs@hawaii.edu
808-956-9779
Office: 512
Eleanor Kleiber
Librarian
Pacific Collection
Department Chair July 2021-June 2023
ekleiber@hawaii.edu
808-956-2847
Office: 509

Other Hawaiʻi Libraries and Repositories

Directory of Historical Records Repositories in Hawaiʻi, 5th ed.
Compiled by the Association of Hawaii Archivists and the Hawaiian Historical Society, 2013.
Hawaiʻi Public Libraries
University of Hawaiʻi System Libraries
Mission Houses Museum Library
Rare book and manuscript collections documenting Hawaiʻi's historic period through the 19th century.
Hawaiian Historical Society Library
The Hawaiian Historical Society library provides a research collection of printed and manuscript material for use by scholars, historians, history buffs, serious students, Society members, and others in the community interested in the history of Hawai‘i and the Pacific Island area. The library’s strength is on the history of Hawai‘i and the Pacific in the nineteenth century. It has fine collections of early voyages and travels, Hawaiian-language imprints, and newspapers published in Hawai‘i.
Hawaiʻi State Archives
Hawaiʻi State Archives holds the operational records of the kingdom, republic, territory and state of Hawaiʻi and their various departments and agencies.
Bishop Museum Library and Archives
Bishop's holdings focus on material pertaining to Hawaiians. In addition to their cataloged collections, both the Library and Archives hold collections of material that are not indexed in their online catalogs.
Hawaiʻi State Public Library System
Hawaiʻi public libraries hold copies of many commonly used Hawaiʻi-related reference titles. They can be a convenient alternative when UH librariesʻ copies are not available.
more...less...
Check their holdings here: http://ipac.librarieshawaii.org/ipac20/ipac.jsp?profile=def#focus. Check branches and hours here: https://www.librarieshawaii.org/visit/branches/all-branch-hours/.
UHM Library University Archives & Manuscripts
Highlights of this department's holdings include: University of Hawaiʻi Archives, Hawaiʻi Congressional Papers Collection, Other Manuscript Collections. An online catalog for archival materials is available here.

Last Updated: Apr 2, 2024 9:28 AM
URL: https://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/hawaiiancommunication
Print Page

Subjects: Communication, Dance, Hawaii, Music

Tags: communication, hawaiian language, hawaiian literature, hawaiian music, hula