University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

United Nations Treaties and Agreements: Finding UN Treaties

This libguide describes the resources available at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa, both print and electronic, and through the world wide web for research to United Nations treaties, agreements, protocols, and other related instruments.

Finding UN Treaties

Search for UN treaties online on official UN websites:

UN Treaties Collection

  • Find the status and text of UN treaties
  • Results includes pdfs of treaties from UNTS (United Nations Treaties Series), recently deposited treaties and certified true copies
  • You can search by popular name, find treaties by category or use the searchable index
  • Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General
  • League of Nations Treaty Series (1920-1945) also available

 

UNBISnet - UN Bibliographic Information System

  • Catalogue of UN documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva
  • Search bibliographic records, voting records (for all resolutions which were adopted from 1946- ), index to speeches (from 1983- )
  • Documents from 1949 to present (but older documents are being added at a regular basis)
  • Also includes commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library

 

International Law Commission (ILC)

  • Treaties on international law and diplomatic relations
  • Text available:
    • Most recent annual session and annual report of the Commission
    • Results of the 2011 election of the International Law Commission
    • Current status of the work of the Commission
  • Search the website of the Commission for full-text (in English or French) of its documentation, ILC reports, text and commentaries, summary records, ILC Yearbook

 

UN Human Rights Treaties

  • Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights website
  • Text of treaties with links to pdf documents including:
    • Text of the International Bill of Human Rights
    • Nine core international human rights treaties 
    • Other universal instruments relating to human rights (non-exhaustive selection)

 

UN Treaty Body Database

  • Search documents and reports related to human rights treaties, by treaty, country, symbol, date
  • Full-text document available (some are pdf)
  • Ratifications and reservations to treaties also available