University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

United Nations Treaties and Agreements: Home

This libguide describes the resources available at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa, both print and electronic, and through the world wide web for research to United Nations treaties, agreements, protocols, and other related instruments.

Scope Note

Welcome! This libguide will help you find United Nations treaties and other related documents. Drawing from Hamilton Library resources and the open web, this site contains links to UN databases, websites containg UN treaties and related documents, and other tools you might find useful in your research.

Guide Authors

This guide was created by Michelle Santiago and Meagan Calogeras for LIS 618 in Fall 2012. It is maintained by librarians in the Government Documents & Maps Department.

Background Information about the UN

The United Nations was founded in 1945 after World War II, replacing the League of Nations. Its mission is to provide a platform for dialogue and stop wars between countries. It also strives to promotes cooperation in international law, international security, economic development, social progress, human rights and to achieve world peace. It contains many organizations and branches to carry out its goals and missions.

Starting Your Search

The Government Documents Collection at Hamilton Library is an official depository library for United Nations documents and publications. Please refer to our library guide Government Documents - United Nations Collection for general information about the UN organization and its other databases and indexes. Here you can also learn about UN document numbers.

*******

Need help navigating through the terminology of treaties? These resources are good starting points:

UN Treaty Collection

Begin your research with an overview of key terms used here: UN Treaty Collection Definitions.

The UN Treaty Handbook, prepared by the UN Treaty Section of the Office of Legal Affairs, explains the administrative and procedural aspects of the UN treaties.