Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United Nations Treaties and Agreements: UH Resources

This libguide describes the resources available at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa, both print and electronic, and through the world wide web for research to United Nations treaties, agreements, protocols, and other related instruments.

Using UH VOYAGER

United Nations materials in the UN collection are cataloged and are listed in OneSearch. You may enter the treaty title in the search and select "Title Keyword" from the "search by" options. OR,

Find print (or e-resources) to better understand or interpret UN treaties. Use the Advanced Search option and enter one of the following subject terms:

 

United Nations Photo: Conference on Law of Treaties, Vienna, Austria, 1968

Treaties--Bibliography

Treaties--Catalogs

Treaties--Collections

Treaties--Collections--Bibliography

Treaties--Collections--Databases

Treaties--Congresses

Treaties--Dictionaries--Polyglot

Treaties--Reservations

Treaties--Indexes

Treaties--Interpretation and Construction

 

Most Consulted Electronic Resources for UN Treaties

United Nations Treaty Collection (UNTC) is THE database collection maintained by the UN. Here you will find the League of Nations Treaty Series (1920 - 1944), daily updated status of multilateral treaties deposited with the UN Secretary-General, photographs of signature ceremonies, and much more.

HeinOnline Treaties and Agreements Library (UHM login required), provided by the UH William S. Richardson School of Law Library, accesses international agreements entered into by the United States.

Readex AccessUN (1945-2012; UHM login required) includes the UN Treaty Series citations. This database is useful as an index to current and retrospective UN documents with some full text.

The New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade publishes the United Nations Handbook, a comprehensive online guide to the UN system and how it works. It also acts as a depository for a number of international treaties.

Interested in a year by year review of UN treaty activities? Try the Yearbook of the United Nations, online from 1946 - 2007, fully indexed. Search under "Legal Questions" for full-text treaty-related documents:  Yearbook of the United Nations

Also search Worldcat (through UHM-only version or public access), a global network of library content and services. It includes UN documents located in UHM and numerous member libraries worldwide.

UH Print Resources

Listed are relevant print resources to help understand UN treaties and other international agreements.