Research Guides: DOE-Hawaiian Studies Kupuna Program: 4. Journal and Magazine Articles

Log In!

To get to the online content that the Library offers, you must log in first.

Each database's interface looks a little different. But there are similar search techniques you can use:

Enclose phrases in quotation marks: "indigenous scholarship"
Use * (or sometimes ! or ?) to truncate words: hawaii* searches for hawaii, hawaiian, hawaiians
Re-sort search results if needed: by Relevance, or Most Recent First.
Note Export, E-Mail or Print features, and Previous Search buttons.

If the index you're using doesn't seem to have a link to full text, try these steps:

Look for the Find It box. Clicking on that will launch a search through all of our online content.
If it's still not found online, check our library to see if we have a paper subscription to the journal. Search Hawaiʻi Voyager, and use the "Journal Title Begins With" search option.
If all of that fails, and if you have time, ask us to get a copy of it for you from another library.

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
An index to nearly 140 journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific. The HPJI covers all subject areas, and includes both peer-reviewed academic journals and "popular press" publications, most of which are not indexed anywhere else. For more on how to use the HPJI, click on the "Research Strategies" tab above.
Alt-PressWatch
Alt PressWatch is a full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Current coverage includes approximately 100 titles going back to 1995.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- English and Spanish language. The titles in Ethnic NewsWatch represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. Includes citation indexing.
AnthroSource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings anthropological material online to scholars and the public, including current issues for American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text journal backfiles in many disciplines including general science, ecology, mathematics and statistics scholarly journal literature.
Project Muse
Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

Journals are written at the academic or technical level, and are considered scholarly, in-depth, specialized. Examples of journals:

Magazines provide general information, and are considered "popular", non-scholarly, and secondary. Examples of magazines:

Honolulu magazine
Call Number: DU620 .H65
Publication Date: 1966 - current
Hana Hou! by Hawaiian Airlines
Call Number: DU623.25 .H36
Publication Date: 1998 - current
In-flight magazine of Hawaiian Airlines.