University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

DOE-Hawaiian Studies Kupuna Program: 1. Internet sources

Resources for Internet-based research

Chronicling America

Chronicling America is an NEH / LOC project to digitize and offer free online access to historical newspapers from across the United States. A surprising amount of content covers Hawaiʻi figures and events. New content is added quarterly.

Click here to see a video demonstrating the most effective way to search Chronicling America.

Sample Searches:
- Kaluaikoolau aka "Koolau the Leper"
- Father Damien

New activity on Chronicling America:

Loading

Online Reference books

Titles marked with a double-asterisk (**) require a UH-Manoa ID to access. All others are freely available on the Internet.

Statistical sources

These sites are useful for seeking out a wide array of statistics -- population numbers, health, social, etc.

Online Collections

These are sources of full-text material -- digitized books, newspapers, maps, images and etc.

Online Indexes

Hold your computer mouse over the link for more information on these sites. Indexes provide information about where to find material (mo'olelo, newspaper articles, song titles, etc.) in other sources. In most cases, you will not get the full text of what you're looking for here, but will be need to take the citations you find here and go to the original source (book, newspaper, album) to get them. All of the material that these indexes point to can be found in the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections at UH-Manoa (and often also at other UH libraries), and in most cases are also available through the Hawaii State Public Library system.

Online Dictionaries of Places

Click on the links below to search place names online. For a more comprehensive guide to sources related to researching places, see http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/hawaiiplaces

Winds and Rains Associated With Places

This box includes only online sources for wind and rain names; there are other print sources as well. For a more comprehensive guide to sources related to researching places (including wind and rain), see http://guides.library.manoa.hawaii.edu/hawaiiplaces

Other Hawai'i-Related Research Guides

While these guides are primarily meant to aid in research within the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections at Hamilton Library, they include online resources and contain a wealth of practical information on how to find what you're looking for. For a complete list of Hawai'i-related guides, click here.

Online Dictionaries

Call numbers refer to UH library holdings. These dictionaries are all also available in print form throughout the Hawai'i public library system.

 

Links to Hawaiian Language Resources