Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ways to search
UHM Pacific Collection
To find the Pacific language material held in the UHM Pacific Collection.
An international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources.
An interface of standardized descriptions of languages , which includes links to OLAC resources.
A geographical interface which uses and links to OLAC resources.
UHM Pacific Collection
Finding Pacific language material held at the UHM collection is a two-step process:
1. Find the unique 3-letter code by searching Ethnologue, or downloading this spreadsheet:
2. Input the 3-letter code into the search box below:
A new page will open listing all the publications that are written in or include examples of that language.
If you want to search a different language, enter the new 3-letter code into this same search box above. (The search box at the top of the pop-up database will not have the same search functions).
Please note: at this time the above widget is searching UHM library's old database. You will be able to find material, but you cannot put in a request for the material in the old database.
To request a book from the Pacific Collection you need to do a 3rd step which is open the new database, OneSearch Manoa, and find the book using the title or call number found in the old database.
We will update the search widget so it queries the database, but this is on a long to-do list to make the new database functional.
OLAC (Open Language Archives Community)
All material edited as part of this project appears in OLAC, listed under "Other resources in the language." The URL at the end of the citation links to the bibliographic record of the item the UHM online catalog. (Although it says "online" most of the material in our collection is not available full-text online. This is simply noting that the description of the item is online.)
When you are in a language description record in Ethnologue, there is a section near the bottom called "Language Resources" which links to the OLAC record for that language.
This Language Map is a geographic way to access all material described in OLAC. It also indicates how much material is accessible in or about each langauge.
In this example, OLAC has 4 items about Jawe, a language from the North Province of New Caledonia. 2 of the 4 items are publications held at the UHM Pacific Collection.