Government Documents: HIST 296: Genocide and Modern Slavery: Additional Resources

Use this resource when you need to do legal research, primarily dealing with the U.S. but also includes foreign and international law databases.
HeinOnline provides access to these special databases which pertain to your research focus:

• Law Journal Library

• Civil Rights and Social Justice

• Foreign & International Law Resources Database

• Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture, and Law / American Indian Law Collection

• International Law Association Reports

• U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library

• World Trials Library

It also contains databases dedicated to:

• treaties
• constitutions
• case law
• world & international trade
• foreign relations
• and much more

HeinOnline allows for broader historical research, providing coverage, from inception, of more than 2,600 law journals and publications. 

Also useful are research Pathfinders, which are collections of resources by subject, for example, Human Rights Law or Crimes Against the Person. These pathfinders will pull up links to documents such as Library of Congress research reports or law journal articles on topics related to war crimes or genocide.

HathiTrust is a collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items.

HathiTrust includes full text of many hard to find books, historical government publications, rare books and serials. 
Full-text access and downloading is available for these items:

• US federal government documents
• Works published before 1927 (i.e., in the public domain) 
• Works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder

Tips for searching in HathiTrust: 

Click on "Advanced Full-text Search" under the main search bar. This allows for more specific searching by title, subject, or author, and for "exact phrase" or "any of these words," among other features. 

For example, if you are doing research on sexual slavery in Japan during World War II, select

• "Full-Text + All Fields" from the first pull-down menu in each line,
• then use quotation marks around "sexual slavery" to keep the phrase together
• enter Japan on the next search field,
• then World War II in another search field.
  • Remember to select "this exact phrase" or "any of these words" in the second pull-down menu.

OneSearch is Hamilton Library's discovery tool that searches many of our physical collections and databases.

This resource is good for comprehensive research from historical to the most current materials, from a wide variety of sources. Many materials are available online, and will appear in the results list as well.

The link above takes you to the Advanced Search screen.

In the Advanced Search screen, separate out your search terms to find relevant results.

For example,

• in the first line, select Subject and type Genocide -- Rwanda -- History -- 20th century in the search box.
• Choose "contains exact phrase" to keep words together in order.