Journal Articles - American Studies 318/Ethnic Studies 318 - Asian America - Research Guides at University of Hawaii at Manoa

Standard Search Techniques

Each database's interface looks a little different. But there are similar search techniques you can use:

Enclose phrases in quotation marks: "indigenous scholarship"
Use * (or sometimes ! or ?) to truncate words: hawaii* searches for hawaii, hawaiian, hawaiians
Re-sort search results if needed: by Relevance, or Most Recent First.
Note Export, E-Mail or Print features, and Previous Search buttons.

Can't Find It Online?

If the index you're using doesn't seem to have a link to full text, try these steps:

Look for the Find It box. Clicking on that will launch a search through all of our online content.
If it's still not found online, check our library to see if we have a paper subscription to the journal. Search Hawaii Voyager, and use the "Journal Title Begins With" search option.
If all of that fails, and if you have time, ask us to get a copy of it for you from another library.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Click the "Login through the UH Web Login Service" button and login with your UH username and password. ILL is to request materials not owned by UHM Library, things that are lost or missing or were canceled. Textbooks cannot be requested.

Indexes to Articles in Journals

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
America: History & Life w/Full Text
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now
JSTOR
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.
Project Muse
Access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.
Google Scholar
Full-text @ UH Manoa links should automatically display. If the links are not displaying you can manually set the links to UH Manoa subscriptions by clicking the menu icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page. Go to Settings. Click on Library links and search for Hawaii. Select University of Hawaii at Manoa - Full Text @ UH Manoa and save your preferences.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
New York Times
NOTE: You must be a UH Manoa student, faculty or staff member to use this resource. You will need to create a free personal account via the link above to access the New York Times. Once you have created an account via the above link, you can access the New York Times by logging in directly from NYTimes.com. Your account will be good for one year; once it expires, you may renew your personal account via the above link.

Indexes to Hawaii Articles in Magazines and Journals

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
Search for articles in SOCIAL PROCESS IN HAWAII and your topic using the Advanced Search.

Social Process in Hawaii
Journal published by the UHM Dept. of Sociology, not all issues are available in ScholarSpace.
Hawaiian Journal of History
Provides searching and full text access up to the 2018 issue.

Full text is available for recent journal issues in Academic Search Complete

Index to the Honolulu advertiser and Honolulu star-bulletin. by Hawaii State Library
Call Number: AI21.H6 I5
In print
1929-1967 indexed together in 5 volumes.
1968-1990 indexed annually in separate volumes.

Online
1929-1967 available online here.
1989-current available online here. (Hawaii Newspaper Index database)
Not full-text, citations only. Once you find an article citation, you will have to go to the microfilm for the actual content or the article.

Honolulu Advertiser Online
Scroll through the alphabetical list. Full text access to the Honolulu Advertiser, 1999 to current. Login with your Hawaii State Library card number (not your UH ID number).

American Studies 318/Ethnic Studies 318 - Asian America: Journal Articles

Standard Search Techniques

Can't Find It Online?

Interlibrary Loan

Indexes to Articles in Journals

Indexes to Hawaii Articles in Magazines and Journals