American Studies 318/Ethnic Studies 318 - Asian America: Online resources

Includes an encyclopedia, Sites of Shame (mapping incarceration sites during World War II), historical materials.

To see all the full-text newspaper articles from the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin, you need a subscription to newspapers.com. Use this URL to search for clippings that are freely available to read.

Published in Daedalus, Spring 2021.

Published in Current History (2021) 120 (827): 246–249.

The Hawaiʻi War Records Depository (HWRD) is an extensive collection of archival materials that document life in Hawaiʻi during World War II.

The Japanese American Veterans Collection documents the rich heritage of Hawaiʻi‘s Japanese American veterans and their families. AJA veterans served with distinction during World War II as members of the 100th Infantry Battalion, Hawaiʻi Territorial Guard, Varsity Victory Volunteers (VVV), 442nd Regimental Combat Team (RCT), 1399th Engineers, and the Military Intelligence Service (MIS).

Includes the papers of Sen. Spark Matsunaga, Sen. Dan Inouye, and Rep. Pat Saiki, among others.

The RASRL (Romanzo Adams Social Research Laboratory) database provides a key to a treasure trove of student research papers covering over fifty years (1920s – 1970s) of observations of family, community and workplace relations throughout Hawaii.

Some interesting parts of this collection are the student papers and war bride interviews.

The Hawaiian Sugar Planters' Association Plantation Archives is a unique collection of records from plantations on the Hawaiian islands of Kauai, Oahu, Maui and Hawaii. It is a rich resource, providing detailed insight into plantation life and the sugar industry in Hawaii, spanning the years of 1850 to 1991.

This archival collection is housed in the Hawaiian Collection so please contact me directly if you are interested in using this resource.