Archive of Hawaiʻi Artists at the University of Hawaiʻi Library

NOTICE: the art and architecture archives will be by appointment only

October 1, 2025 through March 31, 2026

The Jean Charlot Collection is an amazing collection of artist papers. It has served as inspiration around which other Hawaiʻi artist archives were collected by Hamilton Library. Each artist archive is highlighted in the tabs on the left side of this page. For more information on Jean Charlot, see the website, separate research guide, search the collection, or the explore the scope of the archive in ArchivesSpace (click the print button at the top left to generate a preliminary finding aid).

Hawaiʻi artist archives at Hamilton Library are available by appointment (9 am to 4 pm, Monday through Friday) in the Jean Charlot Collection reading room on the 5th floor, across the hall from the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections reading room. When possible, please schedule a week or two in advance, particularly if you are traveling to Hawaiʻi for research.

The Honolulu Museum of Art News Bulletin and Calendar is one of the best resources for searching 20th century visual artists and related events in Hawaiʻi. Some issues are simple newsletter and calendar listings, while others include art historical essays on the exhibitions and artists featured at the museum (formerly the Honolulu Academy of Arts).

See the separate guide on Hawaiʻi Art 101 - A Resource List  for selected books, museums, and art organizations.