HWST 356: Aloha Kanaloa: Home

In Waves of Knowing Karin Amimoto Ingersoll marks a critical turn away from land-based geographies to center the ocean as place. Developing the concept of seascape epistemology, she articulates an indigenous Hawaiian way of knowing founded on a sensorial, intellectual, and embodied literacy of the ocean. Available via Ebook Central for UHM patrons.

Ancestral Places explores the deep connections that ancestral Kanaka enjoyed with their environment. It honors the moʻolelo of the ancestral places of our kupuna, and reveals how these moʻolelo and our relationships with the ʻāina inform a Kanaka sense of place. Oliveira elucidates a Kanaka geography and provides contemporary scholars with insights regarding traditional culture including the ways in which Kanaka utilize cartographic performances to map our ancestral places and retain our mo'olelo, such as reciting creation accounts, utilizing nuances embedded in language, and dancing hula. Thus, Ancestral Places imbues the theoretical with sensual practice. Her discussion of Kanaka geographies encompasses the entire archipelago, offering a new framework in Kanaka epistemology. Available online via Project MUSE for UHM patrons.

This book was written by 19th century Native Hawaiian Scholar, Kepelino Kahoaliʻi (c.1830-1878) and later translated into English by folklorist, Martha Warren Beckwith (1871-1959). The parents of Kepelino were of chiefly lineage, thus affording him the privilege of gaining in-depth knowledge of Hawaiian history and chiefly genealogies. Kepelino, who converted to Catholicism at a young age was encouraged by the Catholic church to document his knowledge of traditional Hawaiian culture. This resulted in the 1868 publication titled, Mooolelo Hawaii that was later revised and published as Kepelino's Traditions of Hawaii. The contents of this book are organized into 5 sections covering topics related to traditional Hawaiian culture such as Hawaiian religion, calendar seasons, dream interpretation, social hierarchy, and traditions involving food and agriculture. This text also includes appendices for other topics such as chiefly genealogies, the chiefly ranking system, night marchers, the practice of hiuwai (water-throwing), etc. Information in this text is presented in both English and Hawaiian Language. Beckwith notes Kepelino’s interpretation of the creation story, death, reward and punishment in the afterlife, the earthly paradise, and the great flood closely resemble Christian teachings that may have had an influence on his writing. Instead, Beckwith places more authenticity on the chants, the accounts of country and court life, and the descriptions of Hawaiian religious practices. Available online via Hathitrust for UHM patrons.

Hawaiian Surfing is a history of the traditional sport narrated primarily by native Hawaiians who wrote for the Hawaiian-language newspapers of the 1800s. An introductory section covers traditional surfing, including descriptions of the six Hawaiian surf-riding sports (surfing, bodysurfing, canoe surfing, body boarding, skimming, and river surfing). This is followed by an exhaustive Hawaiian-English dictionary of surfing terms and references from Hawaiian-language publications and a special section of Waikiki place names related to traditional surfing. This book is written in ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi and English. The work concludes with a glossary of English-Hawaiian surfing terms and an index of proper names, place names, and surf spots. Available online via JSTOR and Ebook Central for UHM patrons.

In Waves of Resistance Isaiah Walker argues that throughout the twentieth century Hawaiian surfers have successfully resisted colonial encroachment in the po'ina nalu (surf zone). Drawing from Hawaiian language newspapers and oral history interviews, Walker's history of the struggle for the po'ina nalu revises previous surf history accounts and unveils the relationship between surfing and colonialism in Hawai'i. The po'ina nalu became a place where resistance proved historically meaningful and where colonial hierarchies and categories could be transposed. Available online via JSTOR for UHM patrons.

Building on two decades of interviews with more than sixty Hawaiian elders, leaders, and fishermen and women, Kaiāulu shares their stories of enduring community efforts to perpetuate kuleana, often translated to mean "rights and responsibilities." Community actions extend kuleana to include nurturing respectful relationships with resources, guarding and cultivating fishing spots, perpetuating collective harvests and sharing, maintaining connection to family lands, reasserting local governance rooted in ancestral values, and preparing future generations to carry on. An important contribution to scholarship in the fields of natural resource management, geography, Indigenous Studies, and Hawaiian Studies, Kaiāulu is also a skillfully written and deeply personal tribute to a community based not on ownership, but reciprocity, responsibility, and caring for the places that shape and sustain us all. Available via Ebook for UHM patrons.

The purpose of this MA thesis is to reach a more holistic understanding of Kanaloa, one of the major male forms of the divine in the Hawaiian pantheon. It examines infrequently accessed Hawaiian language resources in order to expand on his functions in ancestral times, as well as readdress narrow interpretations of him that ignore the depth and breadth of 'ike kupuna. In addition to prioritizing primary resources, this thesis also works to acknowledge Kanaloa’s position as a pan-Polynesian deity, and speaks to the variation with which Oceanic deities have been understood across time and place. This thesis also includes an introduction detailing methodology and a conclusion that provides an analysis of the claims made. Available online via ScholarSpace for UHM patrons.

This document created for Kahoʻolawe Island Reserve Commission by the Edith Kanakaʻole Foundation provides chants and background information on the akua Kanaloa and his different forms.

Hawaiian Anchialine Pools: Windows to a Hidden World is a must read for anyone interested in Hawai‘i’s unique natural history. Readers will be astonished to learn of the clandestine existence of secretive creatures, some of which are found nowhere else on this planet. This volume and its remarkable photographs is the complilation of years of painstaking research, and will be a welcome addition to any reference library.

Book based on interviews to determine the Hawaiian common names used for particular seaweed, the meaning of the common names, and the uses of these seaweeds and of other algae by Hawaiians. Each type of algae has a corresponding photograph with caption.

This new edition of Shore Fishes of Hawai'i updates our knowledge of Hawaiian fishes and has been expanded to include 372 species. All are illustrated by the author's 475 superb photographs. The most important characteristics to identify a fish are given as well as the size attained and its distribution. Each species account begins with the American common name, followed by the Hawaiian name (when known), and the scientific name. Because it is necessary to use some scientific terminology when giving the principal diagnostic characteristics of families or species of fishes and what they eat, a handy glossary appears at the back of the book before the Index.

Honorable Mention, 2011 Ka Palapala Po'okela Award of Excellence in Natural Science, Hawai'i Book Publishers Association More than 300 species of seabirds range across the world's oceans. In excess of 14 million birds, representing nearly two dozen species, make their home in the Hawaiian islands. These are na manu kai, the birds of the sea. More than 135 color photographs illustrate this beautiful book showcasing the seabirds of Hawai'i--from the far eastern tip of the Big Island to the recently created Papahanaumokuakea Marine National Monument. The monument encompasses the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands and the surrounding waters, which together form the second largest marine wildlife reserve in the world. In addition to his spectacular photographs, the author shares the lessons he has learned during the many years spent with his camera in seabird colonies, providing an engaging personal perspective on life with seabirds. Naturalists, wildlife biologists, birders, and others (including older children) who share an interest in the natural world and appreciate fine wildlife photography, will find this book a handy and informative resource on Hawai'i's birds of the sea as well as a delightful experience for the eye. Available online via JSTOR for UHM patrons.

The University of Hawai‘i Sea Grant College Program is pleased to present Hawaiian Reef Plants. The book is written by John M. Huisman, Isabella A. Abbott and Celia M. Smith, three of the world’s leading botanists, and is in full color. Its 264 pages are packed with stunning photographs of the Hawaiian marine flora, plus keys, descriptions, introductory chapters, sections on Hawaiian use of seaweeds and much more. This volume concentrates on a significant part of Hawaiian marine life – marine plants, or seaweeds. Hawaiian culture was and is heavily dependent upon the sea, and reef algae or “limu” as it is known in Hawai‘i, as a prominent part of the culture. Hawaiian Reef Plants is an easy-to-use yet comprehensive guide on nearly all species of marine plants present in Hawai‘i accompanied by stunning photographs and illustrations. The book is valuable to experts and novices alike, and is a must-read for everyone interested in marine plants and the complex ecosystems in which they live.

Hawaiian Fishing Traditions celebrates the great fishers of ancient Hawai'i, known for attracting and propagating fish, inventing fishing techniques, and bringing in extraordinary catches.

This volume celebrates the great fishers of ancient Hawai'i, known for attracting and propagating fish, inventing fishing techniques, and bringing in extraordinary catches. Contents Kuula-kai -- Aiai -- Nihooleki -- Puniakaia -- Kalaminuu -- Punia.

This book provides a lot of information on the importance of fishing in ancient Hawaiian society. It includes drawings of fish with both Hawaiian and scientific names.

Daniel Kahaulelio, a native fisherman of the Lahaina region, provides readers with a vast knowledge of locations, practices, methods, and beliefs of native fisher-people of the Maui region waters. This book is written in ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi and English.

Hawai'i is the only known place in Oceania where the people practiced a "pure" form of fishpond aquaculture. In contrast to the rest of the Pacific, Hawaiian fishponds evolved into a unique and sophisticated aquacultural practice. Nowhere else is found either the variety of fishpond types or the quantity of fishpond remains that are found in Hawai'i. Over the past three decades, Hawai'i has experienced a cultural renaissance and a strong resurgence in all aspects of native Hawaiian culture. Since 1994 a small but steady effort spawned traditional fishpond restoration and fishpond culture projects on Moloka'i. The desire to put these historic and cultural treasures back to productive use again, and the availability of federal and state funding for agriculture and economic diversification, created a regeneration of fishpond interest and development on the island.

Unlike other native cultures that hunted and gathered over vast territories, Hawaiians developed renewable, sustainable, and comprehensive management of their natural resources in the islands' limited space. They were innovators who took a great step from catching fish to raising fish. Wyban presents not only the daily routine of life at a commercial fishpond, but also an in-depth look at how Hawaiians managed their resources, the technology they developed, and the myths, legends, and kapu associated with their fishponds. Originally published in 1992, this paperback reprint includes a new introduction by the author that reflects on the ensuing changes and flourishing interest in restoring fishponds. Available online via JSTOR and Ebook Central for UHM patrons.