HWST 356: Aloha Kanaloa: Selected Web + Scientific Databases

Selected Websites about Water Resources in Hawaiʻi + the Pacific

• Water Resources Research Center @UHM

  This site provides Technical Reports, Technical Memoranda, and other project reports documenting the research performed at the Center since its establishment. These reports represent one of the most extensive collections of water research in Hawaii and the Pacific.
• Hawaii State Water Wells

  (HGGRC, UH Manoa) The Hawai‘i State Water Well project digitized all of the water well files at the DLNR, Commission of Water Resource Management (CWRM). This website provides access to the data via an interactive map.
• Published Soil Surveys for Hawaii

  (Natural Resources Conservation Service, USDA) Links to Web Soil Survey data and archived pdf files.
• UH Manoa Weather Server

  (Meteorology Department, UH Manoa) Weather data categories include Hawaiian weather, tropical Weather, satellite imagery, models, and archived data.
• Rainfall Atlas of Hawaii

  (Geography Department, UH Manoa) The Rainfall Atlas of Hawaiʻi is an interactive set of maps of the spatial patterns of rainfall for the major Hawaiian Islands. Maps are available for mean monthly and annual rainfall for the 30-yr base period 1978–2007. Rainfall maps and station rainfall measurements can be downloaded.
• Water Resources of the Pacific Islands

  (USGS) The USGS Web page for the water resources of Hawaii and the Pacific area is a direct link to water-resource information and products for the State of Hawaii, the U.S. Territories of Guam and American Samoa, the U.S. Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Federated States of Micronesia.
• Regional Water Quality Program - State of Hawaii

  (Cooperative State Research, Education and Extension Services, USDA) Information resources on water pollution, watershed management, and animal waste management for Hawaii. Links to the programs for American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Marshall Islands, and Palau.
• Pacific Islands Area Technical Notes

  (NRCS, USDA) PDF files of publications on agronomy, biology, conservation, forestry, range, soil, water and more.

Selected Websites about Water Resources (General)

• WaterWatch

  (USGS) WaterWatch displays maps, graphs, and tables describing real-time, recent, and past streamflow conditions for the United States. The real-time information generally is updated on an hourly basis. Includes Hawaii data
• Water Quality Information Center (WQIC)

  (National Agricultural Library, USDA) This center "provides electronic access to information on water quality and agriculture. The center collects, organizes, and communicates the scientific findings, educational methodologies, and public policy issues related to water quality and agriculture."
• Climate Data Online

  (National Climate Data Center, NOAA) Provides downloadable data from weather stations located all over the world. Data are provided in hours and include temperature, precipitation, wind speed and wind direction. The data sets are free to users requesting from educational institutions.
• Technical Resources - Natural Resources Conservation Service

  (NRCS, USDA) This NRCS Web site provides access to natural resources assessments; data, maps and analysis; and more.
• USGS Water Data for the Nation

  (U.S. Geological Survey, Department of Interior) These pages provide access to water-resources data collected in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Data categories include current conditions, site information, surface water, groundwater, water quality, and water use.
• World Climate Data and Monitoring Programme (WCDMP)

  (World Meteorological Organization) This site provides organized access to a variety of climate data assessments, data sets and products.
• Environmental Protection Agency Publications

  (National Service Center for Environmental Publications, US EPA) A searchable database of digitized EPA publications going back to pre-1976.
• Our Waters

  (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) Provides links to government information on a variety of water issues such as drinking water, ground water, oceans and coasts, wastewater, etc.
• National Water Program

  This program is a partnership between USDA, NIFA and Land Grant Colleges and Universities. It provides information resources about water quality both for regional programs and national themes. Includes access to the National Water Conference proceedings.
• Groundwater Toolbox

  (USGS) The Groundwater Toolbox is a GIS-driven graphical and mapping interface for estimating base flow, surface runoff, and groundwater recharge from streamflow data. The Toolbox runs in a Microsoft Windows environment and is available free from the USGS.

A sample of subject databases to try.

Interdisciplinary databases are great for finding info on a wide variety of subjects. Here is a sample to try.

Understand the components of scholarly scientific literature and learn how to read a scientific article.

View this example of a the Anatomy of a Scholarly Article from the NCSU Libraries:

Here is an excellent explanation of how to read a scientific paper from ASU School of Life Sciences.