Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites + Databases About Hawaiʻi
List of Hawaiʻi Databases from UH Mānoa
List of 28 databases with the subject "Hawaiʻi" applied by the Hawaiian Collection librarians at Hamilton Library.
Hawaiian Legends Index
Online database of indexed Hawaiian Legends published in English language sources.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI)
An online index to roughly 150 journals and magazines published in or about Hawaii and the greater Pacific, most of which are not indexed in any other resource. In cases where the article is available online, HPJI links directly to the article. (In many cases, the articles are only available in print, from the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections.
Office of Hawaiian Affairs Papakilo Database
Online depository of significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history--
*Historic sites, place names, archaeological reports, land records
*Mahele, including testimony and registers, awards, patents, boundary commissions
*Newspapers, periodical articles
Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library
Online collection of Hawaiʻi-related books. Includes a strong collection of standard reference works, children's books in Hawaiian, curriculum material.
Bishop Museum's Research and Collections
This page links to a number of BM collections, including Scholarly Publications Online, Library and Archives, Ethnology Database, Hawaiian Archaeological Survey Database.
Hawaiʻi State Archives
The Hawaiʻi State Archives holds the documents and records from the different government entities in Hawaiʻi, beginning with the Kingdom of Hawaiʻi through to the Provisional Government, Republic, Territory, and State.