Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To get to the online content that the Library offers, you must log in first.
LOG IN HERE!
Basic Search Techniques
Each database interface looks a little different. But they usually have some common features and there are similar search techniques you can use:
- Enclose phrases in quotation marks: "social informatics"
- Use * (or sometimes ! or ?) to truncate words: hawaii* searches for hawaii, hawaiian, hawaiians
- Re-sort search results if needed: by Relevance, or Most Recent First.
- Note Export, E-Mail or Print features, and Previous Search buttons.
Read this first. Use the suggested article databases to search for journal articles across disciplines. Often the full text of the article will be immediately accessible in the database you search. Sometimes, however, the database only provides a citation (article title, journal name, year, etc.) for the article. If you have only a citation, determine if the library has the journal that contains the article you want by following the steps in the box to the right.
See Find Articles for more discipline-specific database suggestions.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. Includes citation indexing.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1980 to present.
Check out our guide to Getting the Most Out of Web of Science
"Find millions of articles, books, media and more using a single search."
Can't Find It Online?
If the database you're searching doesn't seem to have the full text of the article attached, try these steps: