Research Guides: Communication & Information Sciences Research Guide: Find Articles

Arranged by Alphabet

ABI/INFORM Global
Premier business and management database with good coverage of information technology, IT in business, and organizational communication.
ACM Digital Library
Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947 are available in the library together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.
Business Source Premier
1922-present. Full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
CiteSeerX
Started in 1997 to provide access to computer and information science literature, CiteSeer now provides access, indexing, and citation data for documents, articles, and other forms of data.
Communication Abstracts
A comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale, Communication Abstracts covers major communication-related articles, reports, chapters, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources.

Communication Source
Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research. Communication Source was developed from a merger of high-quality EBSCO databases, Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage), and includes many unique sources not previously available in other databases. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
A new EBSCO interface is coming soon. Preview the new EBSCO interface now

Computer Source
Includes the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Ed/ITLibrary
The digital library from the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE) includes international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
Emerald Fulltext
Business, management, human resources and information technology resources with European focus.
ERIC (EBSCOHOST search interface)
The national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement.
See also ERIC via Proquest and ERIC via DOE .
more...less...
ERIC provides access to information about a wide viariety of education-related documents, including the full text of more than 2,200 research digests, and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
HCI Bibliography
"The HCI Bibliography is a free-access online bibliographic database on Human-Computer Interaction."
IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to 115 of the IEEE Society-sponsored journals and magazines from 1998 on, and the complete collection of proceedings of IEEE conferences that make up the world's core collection of electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science periodicals. Includes Hawaii International Conference on System Sciences (HICSS) proceedings.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstract (LISTA)
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

PAIS International
Index to the world's public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. It has references and in some cases abstracts of articles from over 3,660 journal titles, books, gray literature, internet material, conference proceedings, government and ngo documents and statistical publications.
NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
A database with approximately 500 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycTests
Full text instruments from the PsycInfo database. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
PubMed Medline
Over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. If the University of Hawaii at Manoa (UHM) Library has a subscription to the full-text site, logged in users will be able to view the full-text. To view UHM links, change the "Display" drop-down menu to "Abstract". See also Medline via Ebsco

See also our Getting the Most Out of PubMed Medline guide.
Sociological Abstracts
Index with abstracts to the literature of sociology from journals and other serials, books, dissertations, and conference papers published worldwide. Includes all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology and urban studies.

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1900 to present.

Getting the Most Out of Web of Science

Info About Journals

Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
Journal Citation Reports can show you the most frequently cited journals in a field, highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field. Citation and article counts are important indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals. By tabulating and aggregating citation and article counts, JCR offers a unique perspective for journal evaluation and comparison. This resource is available thanks to the JABSOM Health Sciences Library.

Eigenfactor
A non-commercial academic research project which evaluates the influence of scholarly periodicals and maps the structure of academic research.
Journal Quality List
From Harzing.com, the list collates journal information from a variety of sources, concentrating on journals in Economics, Finance, Accounting, Management, and Marketing.

Library Maps

Some Useful Call Numbers

Books in UH Libraries are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers.

Library and Information Science call numbers start with Z

Cybernetics (bionics, a.i., information theory, etc.) -- Q300 - Q390

Computer Science -- QA75.5 - QA76.95

Computer Networks -- TK5105 - TK5105.9

Computer Engineering -- TK7885 - TK7895

Useful Links

Journals
Databases
A-Z list of databases
Science & Technology Databases
Browse a list of databases for finding articles and other research literature; covers all science subject areas

ScholarSpace at University of Hawaii at Manoa
Digital repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community.
Dissertations & Theses Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and selected master's work of authors from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available for PDF download. Print copies of additional dissertations and theses not yet digitized are available for purchase. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Need More Help?

Sci/Tech Librarians' Email:
sciref@hawaii.edu