Research Guides: Mathematics: Find Articles

Quick Search

Useful Links

Journals
Databases
A-Z list of databases
Science & Technology Databases
Browse a list of databases for finding articles and other research literature; covers all science subject areas

ScholarSpace at University of Hawaii at Manoa
Digital repository for the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community.
Dissertations & Theses Includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and selected master's work of authors from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available for PDF download. Print copies of additional dissertations and theses not yet digitized are available for purchase. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts. NOTE: If you use an ad blocker, you may receive error messages when using certain functions in ProQuest databases. Please whitelist search-proquest-com.eres.library.manoa.hawaii.edu and search.proquest.com to avoid such errors.

Library Maps

Need a Full Journal Title?

MathSciNet Journal Search
A searchable database to find information about journals and serials indexed by Mathematical Reviews. One can enter the abbreviated title, full-title or ISSN.
zbMATH Journal Search
Search for journal abbreviations to get the full titleinformation and ISSNs of journals and serials indexed by Zentralblatt MATH (zbMATH). zbMath has some titles that are not listed by Mathematical Reviews.
MR Lookup
MR Lookup provides bibliographic matching in the Mathematical Reviews database (MRDB). It uses any of the following fields: ISSN, Journal, Author, Volume, Issue, Page, Year and/or Title.

MathSciNet Database

MathSciNet
MathSciNet is a comprehensive searchable database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. It provides Web access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database, created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered, as well as Current Mathematical Publications.

[see below for more Mathematics databases]

Searching MathSciNet

MathSciNet has four kinds of searches:

MathSciNet search screen

Publications allows you to enter search terms in a variety of fields to find articles, books, and conference proceedings.
Authors allows you to search by the author's name or MR Author ID.
Journals allows you to search for a journal using its title, part of its title, abbreviation, or ISSN.
Citations tells you how many times an author or journal has been cited. You can also see the most cited articles in a particular subject or during a particular year.

These are the search fields available in MathSciNet. Click on the name of the field for more information.

Field	Searches...
Author	Author's name only
Author/Related	Author's name plus editors, translators etc.
Title	Title of original article
Review Text	Any text in the body of the review
Journal	Journal name
Institution Code	The code assigned to a specific institution
Series	Series name
MSC Primary/Secondary	Primary or secondary Mathematics Subject Classification
MSC Primary	Primary Mathematics Subject Classification
MR Number	Number of item in MathSciNet
Reviewer	Reviewer's name
Anywhere	All of the bibliographic, classification, and review information
References	All reference lists

If you plan to include the author's name as part of your search, the best way to do this is to use the Authors search. Authors sometimes publish papers using variations of their name. The easiest way to search all their name variations is to use the Authors search.

Author's search tab

When searching by author anywhere on MathSciNet, make sure to use the format Last Name, First Name (or Initial). Don't forget the comma!

Good Searches:

Rudin (will find authors with "Rudin" in their last name)
Rudin, W*
Rudin, Walter

Bad Searches:

Walter Rudin
Rudin Walter
That one analysis guy

Once you find the right record, click on it for more information and options. Here is an example of an author's record:

An exmaple of an author's record

To add all variations of the author's name to your search, click on Refine Search.

Adding the author to your search

This will take you back to the Publications search page with the author field pre-filled for you.

Search with author pre-filled

You can add more search terms if you wish, and click "Search."

The Journals Search lets you get the full name of a journal from its abbreviation or ISSN. You can also browse specific issues of journals and get access to the articles of some titles. To get there, click on the Journals tab.

Searching journals

Suppose you found a citation for an article you would like to read in something called Ann. Pure Appl. Logic. You can type that into the search box:

Journal search example

Here is the result of the search:

Journal search results

When you are browsing the contents of an issue, some articles will be available for viewing. If the Article link is not grayed out, you can click on it to access the article. (Click image for bigger version.)

The citations search can tell you how often an author or journal has been cited and where they were cited. Citations can give you clues about how influential an author or journal is, and can provide good suggestions for further reading on your topic of research.

To search for citations, click on the Citations tab.

Citations tab

You will see a new search screen with new tabs to choose from:

Citations search screen

Author Citations tells you how often a particular author has been cited.
Journal Citations tells you how often a particular journal has been cited.
Search by Subject tells you the most-cited articles in a particular subject.
Search by Year tells you the most-cited articles in a particular year.
Top 10 Lists tells you generate a top 10 list for a given year and category.

Other Indexes for Mathematics

Project Euclid
Project Euclid's mission is to advance scholarly communication in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded) as well as both the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1900 to present.
JSTOR
The Library has purchased access to the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV collections, Life Sciences collection, and Business IV. These collections provide full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

Need More Help?

Sci/Tech Librarians Email:
sciref@hawaii.edu

Open Access Repositories

NUMDAM
A growing collection of digitized mathematics publications from Annales de líinstitut Fourier (1949-2006) to Seminaire Bourbaki (1948-2002); the more current volumes are made available according to a moving wall of agreements with publishers.
arXiv.org > math
arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. The math archive covers the area of mathematics.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Electronic Library of Mathematics (ELibM)
The Electronic Library of Mathematics contains online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics.