Natural Resources and Environmental Management

Complete guide to services and resources in UH Manoa Library's MAGIS department

Links to digital maps such as Hawaii Historical Maps 1885-1904 and topographic maps and information on the paper map collections

General information about the collection and links to online aerial photograph resources.

Links to online data on various topics, especially for Hawaii and the Pacific

(Office of Planning, State of Hawaii) The state GIS Program provides access to downloadable GIS layers covering topics such as water resources, land use, animal habitats, tsunami inundation zones, and soils.

(Natural Resources Conservation Service, USDA) Links to Web Soil Survey data and archived pdf files.

(Geography Department, UH Manoa) The Rainfall Atlas of Hawaiʻi is an interactive set of maps of the spatial patterns of rainfall for the major Hawaiian Islands. Maps are available for mean monthly and annual rainfall for the 30-yr base period 1978–2007. Rainfall maps and station rainfall measurements can be downloaded.

(U.S. Geological Survey, Department of the Interior) The USGS offers several mapping products from this Web site including the most up-to-date editions of topographic quadrangle maps containing geospatial extensions (US Topo) and searchable access to their historical topographic map collection.

(FAO, United Nations) Find interactive maps, GIS datasets, satellite imagery, and related applications.

(Forest Service, USDA) Provides access to vector data, Raster data, S&PF national data, and maps. Locate maps by State or Forest Service Region.

(Nature Conservancy) High-resolution downloadable images of the maps and figures from the Nature Conservancy ecoregional plan. Includes pre-human ecological systems, modern ecological systems, rare plant concentrations, conservation areas; most are available for individual islands.

(U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) EIS Mapper displays information from EPA’s Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Database which provides data about EISs prepared by federal agencies, as well as EPA's comments concerning the EISs.

(U.S. Environmental Protection Agency) EnviroAtlas provides interactive tools and resources for exploring the benefits people receive from nature or "ecosystem goods and services". Maps at the national extent provide wall-to-wall data coverage for the contiguous U.S. as well as some data for Alaska and Hawaii.