Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taxonomy & Species Information
Encyclopedia of Life
A collaborative effort of natural history museums, botanical gardens, and research institutions to create a biodiversity database on the Web. Scientific names, geographic distribution, and images are provided for many species.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
Free and Open Access to Biodiversity Data. Includes over 1.6 million confirmed species.
Tree of Life
The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. It provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).
NCBI Taxonomy Database
A curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases.
An internationally refereed database of fishes with entries for over 33,000 species. Searchable by scientific name, common name, or by family.
General Biodiversity Bibliography for Polynesia, Micronesia, and Melanesia
Sources for species survey data in the Pacific created by members of the Pacific Biodiversity Information Forum in collaboration with the UH Libraries.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
Taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
Need More Help?
Sci/Tech Librarians Email: