Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Journal Article Databases
via Web of Science: 1969 - present
A basic research tool for biological and biomedical sciences. Includes full bibliographic citations and current life science abstracts derived from approximately 7,000 biological and biomedical journals from over ninety countries. Guide to Biological Abstracts
Zoological Record (Web of Science)
via Web of Science: 1978 - present
Citations with abstracts for publications covering all aspects of zoology. Authoritative source on animal names and identification (taxonomy and systematics).
Web of Science
via Web of Science: 1980 - present
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. Allows citation searching as well as searching by topic or author. Guide to using Web of Science
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
via ProQuest: 1971 - present
Coverage includes all biological and ecological aspects of marine; fisheries, aquaculture; oceanography.
JSTOR provides full-text journal backfiles in many disciplines, including the biological sciences.
Provides free access to over 22 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Guide to PubMed Medline
Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL)
A consortium of 12 major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions organized to digitize, serve, and preserve the legacy literature of biodiversity. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (
Going from Database Record to the Full-Text Article
Most of the Library's subscription databases enable you to connect directly from a citation record to the full-text article online, if available.
-Click on the link in the database record to search UHM electronic collections for the full-text article.
-If , you can search to see if we have it available in print.
-If we do not have the article in print or electronic format, you can to access the Interlibrary Loan online request form. Interlibrary Loan is a free service provided to you by the Library -- the article will be sent to you within a few days as a PDF file.
Some Useful Call Numbers
Journals in UH Libraries are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers.
Zoology call numbers start with QL
Biology call numbers start with QH
Animal science call numbers start with SF
Dissertations & Theses
Large collection of dissertations and theses via Proquest. Full text: 1997 - present; Citations: 1743 - present.
Need More Help?
Sci/Tech Librarians Email: