University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Zoology 430 | Animal Physiology: In Class Exercises

OneSearch is a tool that searches almost everything UHM library has access to. OneSearch is able to search through multiple databases and the UH Voyager Catalog at one time. Results include books, articles, conference papers, maps, government documents, DVDs, archives & manuscripts, and more.

 

Searching in OneSearch Manoa

SEARCHING ACTIVITY: OneSearch Manoa

1) Type vertebrate paleontology into the OneSearch Manoa search bar. Look at the Material Type menu on the right side -- how many articles and books were located?

2) Under the Material Type menu, click on Show More and select Periodicals. Review the listings to see what is available in print and what is accessible online.    

3) At the top of the right side menu (under Active Filters) click out of Periodicals. This will take you back to the original results list for vertebrate paleontology. 

4) Under Material Type, filter by Books. Select the book chapter that begins with Mesozoic/Cenozoic Vertebrate Paleontology. Examine the record. Does UHM have print or electronic access? How can you obtain a copy of this item?

Databases/Article Indexes

BIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS VIA WEB OF SCIENCE

1) Open Biological Abstracts http://micro189.lib3.hawaii.edu/ezproxy/details.php?dbId=171

Search fossil canidae physiology

Look at the Major Concepts in the menu on the left side of the page. Select PHYSIOLOGY and click on the Refine button.

Find the article by Davis published in the journal Paleobiology

Click on the FIND IT button. Were you able to connect to the full text? 

2) Go back to the Davis article record, The effects of temperature climate and domestication of the body size of late pleistocene to holocene mammals in Israel. How many times has this article been cited?

Click on the title of the Davis article to open the full-record.

Click on View Related Records (in the upper right menu). These are other articles that have references in common with the Davis article.

BONUS: Open a new window in your browser and go to Google Scholar: www.scholar.google.com

In the search box, copy the title of the Davis article and click search. 

Find the article in the list of results. How many times has this article been cited? How does this number compare with the "Times Cited" number in Biological Abstracts? Which one is correct?

NOW TRY ZOOLOGICAL RECORD

3) Do a fresh search. Go back to the main search box for Biological Abstracts, switch to Zoological Record. Search on fossil AND canidae in Topic. Sort by Times Cited highest to lowest.