University of Hawaii at Manoa LibraryLibrary CatalogResearch ToolsAsk Us Skip to main content

Map collections in Hawai'i and online collections of Hawai'i maps : Home

A resource guide providing information on where to find special and general collections of Hawai'i maps.

About This Guide

This LibGuide was created by Jennifer Hamada and Storm Stoker for LIS 618, Government Documents & Archives, in Fall 2012. Revisions and updates are handled by librarians in the Government Documents & Maps Department.

Contents

This guide introduces some of the Hawaiian map collections available in Hawaii or on-line.  There is a video tutorial to assist users with an aerial photography database.

Maps of Hawai'i and the Pacific can be found in archives and libraries at universities, historical societies, and government offices.  Collections are being digitized and on-line access is being made available;  however this is a slow process.  Maps are a valuable resource for cultural, environmental and historical research because they show the changes in the use of land over time.  This is particularly pertinent in Hawaii where land ownership and use is often disputed.  

 

 

 

Please use the tabs at top to navigate this guide.

  

Contents:

The scope of this LibGuide did not allow for much coverage of military museum map holdings, click here to explore more on this topic.

Related Guides

Place Names in Hawai'i
Helpful links and explanations about Hawai'i place names

Hawaiian Collections LibGuide at UH Hilo's Edwin H. Mookini Library
This LibGuide provides resources about Hawaii.

Genealogy: Native Hawaiian Genealogy Information Sources: Land Ownership and Maps
This LibGuide links users to information about the Mahele Registry and other land usage and land rights maps.

Mahele Database
The Reading room on the 5th floor of Hamilton Library is a space where you can use the Mahele Database with the assistance of a librarian.