Map collections in Hawai'i and online collections of Hawai'i maps : Bishop Museum

Summary:

The Bishop Museum has three main tools for map searching. The Data for Google Earth allows you to explore Hawaii in depth, including Mauna Kea.  The Maps of Henry E. P. Kekahuna were kept by an individual who wanted to preserve the knowledge of historic sites before they disappeared.  Other map collections can be searched via the general Museum and Library database.   All of the maps in the collection are Hawaii/Pacific Maps and date from the 1840s through the 1960s.  The archives also has a huge aerial photography collection which they consider separate from their map collections.

Finding Tools: 

Ask a Librarian!  There are also several databases that will assist you in locating maps.

Accessibility:

The map collection is open to the public but only about 2% of the thousands of maps in the collection are available on-line. The archives are closed to the public for the rest of 2012 but when they reopen the public will have full access to the maps once again. There are databases for the Kekahuna collection which can be searched by place name and the Mauna Kea Google Earth maps. Only very fragile items and items under-going preservation are unavailable for public viewing. Most maps are available for viewing in the archives and are for reference use only meaning they cannot be borrowed. A form must be filled out and fees may apply if you wish to reproduce the images in any way.  The cost depends on the size and format of the map.  The library staff does the reproduction for you at a cost.  Appointments must be made to view the items.  Most items in the Library and Archives collection can be searched for in their general database here. 

Bishop Museum
1525 Bernice Street
Honolulu, HI 96817
Ph: 847.3511

Office Hours: Wednesday to Monday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m

Website: http://www.bishopmuseum.org/

Links: