Map collections in Hawai'i and online collections of Hawai'i maps : State of Hawai'i

Several State of Hawaii government agencies produce maps and map data. Featured resources are the Hawaii State Archives and the State of Hawaii GIS Program described below. Availability and accessibility of map information varies by individual agency. For historical maps and GIS data, please explore the archives on-line catalog and GIS program first before contacting individual state agencies.

Other State of Hawaii map resources of included in this guide: The Hawaii State Library, Department of General Accounting Services (DAGS), Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism (DBEDT), and Department of Land and Natural Resources (DLNR).

Summary: The Hawaii State Archives is the official repository of government records for Hawaii dating from 1790 to the present. In addition to government records, the Hawaii State Archive collection includes photographs, artifacts, private manuscripts, rare books and newspapers. The Archives has roughly 1,800 printed maps in their collection consisting of individual maps, map sheet sets, and bound volumes of maps. Popular map sources within the collection are the Department of Accounting and General Services’ (DAGS) Land Survey, Department of Land and Natural Resources’ survey and public land records, Department of Taxation’s cancelled tax maps prints, Hawaiian Government land surveys, University of Hawaii Land Survey Bureau records, Department of Agriculture's agriculture and forestry maps, and Sanborn fire insurance maps.

Finding Tools: All maps in the collection are cataloged and are searchable using the Hawaii State Archives online catalog. Searching by geographic name is recommended. 

Accessibility: Prior to visiting it is highly recommended to view the administrative rules which specify the rules and procedures of using the Hawaii State Archives. As of November 2012, the archives has no wide surface copier. Items located using the catalog need to be requested for viewing using the on-site request form. Visitors may use a digital camera to take photos of the maps. Also the archives offers a scanning service to create a digital copy for a fee. Please contact them for more details.

Hawaii State Archives
Kekāuluohi  Building
‘Iolani Palace Grounds
364 S. King Street
Honolulu, Hawai‘i 96813

Phone: (808) 586-0329
Fax: (808) 586-0330
E-mail: archives@hawaii.gov

http://hawaii.gov/dags/archives

Hours of Operation:
Mon. to Fri. 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Closed Saturdays, Sundays, and state holidays.

The Hawaii State Geographic Information System (GIS) Program is maintained by the State of Hawaii Office of Planning and coordinates and provides access to GIS data across state agencies.

http://www.state.hi.us/dbedt/gis/