Map collections in Hawai'i and online collections of Hawai'i maps : Hawaii State Library

Summary: The Hawaii State Library Hawaii & Pacific Collection has a non-cataloged physical map collection consisting of original maps and re-prints dating from 1854 to present. The collection consists of USGS topographical maps, NOAA charts, Sanborn fire insurance maps (microfilm), Honolulu street maps (1891 - 1942), U.S. census block map of Hawaii (1980), election maps (1948-1984), Territory of Hawaii survey maps, aerial photos with coordinating TMK maps, seafloor maps, and various other documents. The majority of the collection consists of donated items from private companies and individuals, so the collection's scope and coverage is not consistent through the years.

Finding Tools: Ask a librarian! The collection is not cataloged, however the Hawaii & Pacific librarians have an inventory on file.

Accessibility: The map collection is open to the public. It is located in the Hawaii & Pacific section of the Hawaii State Library and is browsable in file drawers. Fragile and oversize items are stored in a non-public area (and brought out on request). All maps are available for viewing in the library and are for reference use only meaning they cannot be borrowed. The Hawaii State Library does not have a large format copier, but a two hour reference loan may be granted on a case-by-case basis.

Hawaii State Library Hawaii & Pacific Collection
478 S. King Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 586-3535

Website: http://www.librarieshawaii.org/hawaii_and_pacific/index.html

Hours of Operation: 
Mon. 10:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m.
Tues. 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wed. 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Fri. 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat. 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Closed on Sundays and state holidays