Map collections in Hawai'i and online collections of Hawai'i maps : Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

Summary

There are over 350,000 items in the park archives, which include records relating to the park, photos, drawings and of course maps. This archive mostly focuses on park activities and dates back to 1918.  Very few have been digitized but all the maps are searchable using the archives database.  The archive has a large collection of aerial photographs , many of which have been digitized and it is also searchable by the same database.

Finding Tools

The archives has finding aids and a database called etic with npsphoto that allows the patron to search their maps and aerial photos. 

Accessibility

The public is allowed to do research in the archives but mus do so by appointment at least a week in advance by calling (808) 985-6327.  The only maps that are restricted from the public are those that would reveal archaeological sites, such as burials, the location of endangered species nesting grounds or water supply sources.  Only a few of the maps are digitized but they are indexed and searchable via a database.  Some of the aerial photographs have been digitized and can be located using the database.

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park map collection

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Archives

USGS Lava Flow Map

Coming soon! Database searches:  NPS' e-tic  website and About NPS e-tic 

Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park
P.O. Box 52
Hawaii National Park, HI 96718-0052

By Phone:
Visitor Information (808) 985-6000

By Fax:
(808) 985-6004

By Email:
E-Mail Us

Hawaiʻi Volcanoes National Park is open 24 hours a day year-round, including ALL holidays. The Kīlauea Visitor Center is located on Crater Rim Drive off of Highway 11 between the 28 and 29 mile marker south of Hilo.

• Kīlauea Visitor Center is open daily from 7:45 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
• Jaggar Museum is open daily from 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
• Jaggar Museum Bookstore is open daily from 8:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. beginning August 19, 2012).